Escarole and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Awesome recipe, delicious and healthy at once. I have also added veggie or chicken stock and prepared as more of a soup, drizzled w evoo and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Served w fresh, crusty peasant loaf. Sublime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille      L Mac Lean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Can you say authentic? No need for two pans, I sautee the escarole with a chopped onion about 4 or 5 cloves of garlic, the salt and crushed red. Then I drain the beans and add them to the pot with a couple cups of chicken broth. I also add some browned bulk italian sausage for a complete meal. Oh so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Tried to recreate an escarole and white bean pasta dish I had an italian restaurant. I love red sauce on my pasta but the combo of beans and escarole is so out of this world, that I didn't mind the absence of tomatoes. I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because I made a few adjustments. I made the dish with pasta. Boil and generously salt the pasta a few mins short of al dente. Set aside cup of pasta liquid, and drain and rinse pasta. I used only about 1 1/2 heads of escarole. Definitely trim the white ends of the escarole off. I upped the garlic to about 5, and then one more freshly grated garlic to mix into the dish at the end of cooking. I simmered the garlic until golden, added escarole, salted it. Then I took about a cup of pasta water, a cup of dry white wine, and about quarter cup of reserved bean liquid, cooked it down (leaving a little bit of liquid to mix and fully cook the pasta in the last step). (I wanted to also use chicken stock but was out. Next time I will try it with about a half cup of chicken stock). I threw in only one can of beans for a few mins, then throw in pasta (I used almost a whole 16 oz pkg of penne rigate). Top with some pecorino cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Extremely easy to make. Bought a bag of chopped escarole @ the store. Hardest part was mincing the garlic. One clove of garlic though? I put in an entire head! Helps to keep away vampires, gnats, and mosquitoes. My Italian wife was delirious with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Simple clean flavors. I too added veg broth to make it soup. We're about 90% vegan and this is a nice addition to our weeknight menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYNYNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delicious! Made exactly as written and it was a perfect side to veal roast. Great with crunchy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great recipe!! Made very little changes to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy. I did add a couple more cloves of garlic (I'm Italian, needs lots of garlic :)) I also made everything in a large wok. Sauteed the garlic in olive oil, broke the escarole up into pieces and mixed it in, once it softened down (about 8-10 minutes) I seasoned with the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and mixed in the beans and let cook another 10 minutes or so as directed. Next time I may use 1.5 cans of beand depending on the size of the escarole..felt the two cans was a bit much for the 2 heads, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I really liked this recipe, It brought me back to my childhood. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States