Escarole and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I too added Jennie O turkey sausage (cooked in separate pan). I substituted Seasoned Salt for ADOBE because I do not like monosodium glutamate. Also finely chopped two stalks celery and one large carrot to make 'trinity' with the onion. This soup recipe is awesome! Hubby LOVES it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very simple and satisfying soup. I added some Mrs.Dash seasoning in place of the adobo seasoning. I will be eating this for lunch this week, I think I will be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Perhaps it would have been better with the adobe, which we opted not to use because of my dad's low-sodium dietary restriction. I ended up having to add several herbs to make it palatable because it seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
escarole and white bean soup is my absolute favorite. I finally have a recipe that can compare to the one at the only restaurant where i like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My husband and I love this soup...however, we like it with more broth so I use one large 48 oz. can and 1 small 14.5 oz. can of chicken broth. I also made it the first time with navy beans, then tried cannellini beans because the store was out of the navy beans..we seem to like the cannellini beans a bit more. Also, I use one head of escarole that I wash, then rip..no measuring or chopping (it just makes this recipe easier than it already is). I then simmer to perfection for 30 minutes covered..YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Shevlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this soup at my job and it sold out super fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I pinched the sausage into small pieces before baking them, which takes some of the fat out of frying them before adding them to the soup. I also would suggest adding raw egg during the last few minutes of cooking. Don't stir, but allow the egg to cook in large clumps. This is how my Italian Grandmother served it, with grated or shredded parm on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great for a quick, tasty lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNNYFARM319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Awesome soup. I only used 1 can of beans and added about 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and cut up chicken apple sausage. I also added little more broth as I wanted little more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This soup is delicious, much more flavorful than I expected it to be. I made it exactly to the recipe except I used white northern beans instead of navy and left out the adobo seasoning. I have no idea how allrecipes.com calculates this at 226 calories per serving. Chicken broth is 10 cal/serving and beans are 80 cal/serving. Add onions, garlic, and escarole - nothing else - so where do all the other calories come from? I'm calling this a 120-calorie bowl of soup, max. That makes it taste even better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GA law dawg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States