Escarole Siciliano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Tasted just like the escarole I had at a high-end local Italian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This is great! Easy prep, fast, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
I don't know if I'd call this a salad - It's more like a side dish or an appetizer. But that aside, it's really good! Between the escarole, the lemon and the kalamata olives, there are some intense flavors battling for attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
they were out of escarole so we substituded friscee... it was good...not popular with the hubby...but it felt good to eat healthy! I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was absolutely fabulous! We decided to add a little slivered garlic and a few red pepper flakes to the oil just before the escarole for a bit more zing. Nice and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We loved this recipe. Did not think the lemon was too much, as mentioned by some reviewers but we did use Meyer lemons from our tree which are a milder flavor so maybe that is why. I did not see that the recipe required 2 heads of escarole so I only purchased one, then wound up tossing in baby arugula after the salad was removed from the heat to make up for the missing escarole. I think I may almost prefer it this way in the event I prepare this again. All at our dinner party loved it but we are bitter greens lovers. The capers were especially nice! We served this as a salad/side dish with a polenta & braised short ribs - perfect to cut the creaminess & fattiness of the other items served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycvicky66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Healthy, easy to make and yummy!! My only suggestion is to add a little garlic and red pepper to the oil before adding the Escarole and to reduce the amount of lemon juice to maybe a quarter of a cup. Very Good, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I'm giving this recipe four stars for flavor, although I did add several cloves of chopped garlic, however, I'm giving "escarole" in general one star. My daughter had a similar dish at a friends and loved it, so she asked me to make it for her. I don't know what went wrong, but my escarole came out tough and chewy. I don't claim to be escarole savy, but I certainly cooked it long enough. If anyone out there has any suggestions, I would certainly appreciate it because we honestly couldn't even finish it. Again, the flavors were great Tammy and I'll give this another try if I can find a way to tenderize the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love the idea, but the lemon was too much for me; next time, I'll halve it. Like other reviewers, I added garlic to the olive oil. I went to four markets and couldn't find escarole or frisee, so I used spinach and arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Disclaimer: I'm not a fan of escarole! But my CSA keeps sending it to me, so I keep searching for uses. I think this is my favorite so far, as I'll finish it without groaning inside. The recipe is fine. I made no changes to the recipe, although I'd wanted to add garlic, and think it would work well with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States