Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I was looking forward to this recipe because I love peanut sauces and fresh green beans but my family wasn't as excited. Once they got a couple of bites, they were sold and kept asking for more. I thought the chile paste might have been too strong for the kids but nobody minded and I thought it was just perfect for me. I even liked the way the rice was cooked on this recipe versus the way I would normally cook it. Next time, I'll probably make twice the rice and twice the sauce. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS TEMPEST
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Yum! We really like this dish. The recipe calls for low-sodium chicken broth and soy sauce and this is important or it turn out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was fabulous and I will definitely be adding it to the rotation. I was a little leery about the peanut butter but it didn't taste like peanut butter at all. Just a really flavorful peanut sauce. I had some thin-cut pork chops on hand which I sliced into thin strips which worked great for this, instead of chicken. Also when I got home, the dogs had gotten into the cabinet and eaten the honey so I just added some sugar instead. I doubled the sauce (and I'm glad I did) because I'm always scared there won't be enough sauce. Oh, and I added some chopped fresh cilantro as a garnish which really added to it, making a nice fresh flavor. I'm trying to get my burgers-n-fries boyfriend to branch out and accept ethnic food, and he loved this! Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Absolutely fabulous! I loved this dish and so did my family. I think there is an error in the recipe when is states to "mix in the greens beans and rice" I think it is supposed to be "mix in the grean beans and Chicken" and then serve over rice. I skipped that part all together anyway. I placed the green beans and chicken on top of the rice and the poured the sauce over it. Superb! Thanks for sharing Erin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
If you like peanut butter, you WILL like this dinner...I didn't find the peanut butter overwhelming at all! I had chicken cooked in the freezer, so it was REALLY quick and easy to make also...I added some cumin, curry and garlic cause most thai meals have those spices and it added just the "kick" it needed. My friend took some home to her husband and he loved it too! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I've tried a fair few stir fry recipes from this website, and this one had been by far the best. I added chopped water chestnuts, red peppers, and low fat chunky PB to make it a bit healthier. This was great- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h_martens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Quick, easy, and very good. I used lime juice instead of lemon and hot sauce instead of the chile paste because that is all I had on hand. Still turned out great. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Very easy and yummy. I've tried peanut chicken recipes before and my husband hasn't liked them, but he thought this was great! I used stir fry vegetables instead of the green beans...was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was really good, my husband isn't a big chicken or rice fan so I'm always trying to find new ways to make these ingredients as I love both of them. The husband gave his seal of approval and said I could make this again. I loved the peanut flavor in the sauce. I might omit the green beans next time, or put them on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This recipe was fabulous! Everybody loved. The peanut flavor is not overpowering so it is a nice flavorful dish. I added some sliced carrots and onion to the chicken while I was Sautéing it, I also added a little more soy sauce. Very appealing easy presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States