Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE peanut butter.. but I did NOT love this recipe. I followed it exactly and it just tasted like chicken and green beans rolled in PB. My boyfriend thought it was ok, but I could barely eat it. It needs some drastic changes. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I followed the sauce recipe exactly & cooked the chicken in sesame oil instead of olive oil. The sauce thickened up nicely however the finished product needs some serious help. The lemon juice was very prominent, I did use fresh squeezed & that might have been part of the issue. My husband thought it was ok but I thought it tasted like chicken/green beans dipped in peanut butter mixed with lemon juice, not flavors that go well together. It stuck to my tongue & I couldn't finish. Next time I will use more broth & less peanut butter to thin it out a little, leave out the lemon juice, and maybe replace it with coconut milk, I'm not sure but this recipe needs to be changed before I could eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I modified the recipe as follows: instead of chicken chunks - butterflied chicken breasts completely in half. In the same skillet sauteed half of a sliced sweet onion, gave sweetness to counter pb, think pb&j (omitted green onion). Used angel hair pasta instead of rice. I also used asian sweet chili sauce instead of the paste. To serve, layer on each plate: pasta, green beans, chicken breast, onion, then drizzle with good amount sauce. Lovely presentation and wonderful mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe was fantastic and so authentic!! I will definitely make this again! Thanks, Erin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
So yummy! I doubled the recipe because we are a family of 6. I served the green beans on the side. Everyone wanted seconds! I will def. make this again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
yum- I also added red bell pepper - the sauce gets very creamy and delicious- I used brown rice which adds to the creaminess. Cilantro makes a great addition and fresh topping. The kids and kids' friend all thought this was great- as did hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
All I could say when I had this was wow! My boyfriend and I fought over the sauce. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I used lime juice instead of lemon, and also garnished the dish with lime wedges, plus a sprinkle of freshly-snipped cilantro. I just added the green beans and sauce mixture to the browned chicken chunks. Part from that, I made this pretty much as written. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was pretty bland even with the red chile paste. It also has a much stronger peanut butter taste than I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe but I will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Excellent stir fry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States