Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
DELICIOUS!!! I couldn't find any red pepper paste so I have used both chipotle and cayenne powder and it has been wonderful with both. The chipotle gives the sauce a nice smoky flavor. I have made this many time for at home and potlucks and have received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Thanks for the recipe. My boyfriend is half Indonesian and he grew up eating Indonesian recipes so of course I wanted to make sure I did his culture proud. He said this dish was just like one his mom used to make. I think this recipe can be simplified without affecting the taste. I skipped the step of steaming the green beans. Instead, once I had the sauce going, I threw the green beans in and they seemed to cook enough on their own. After the green beans were in there for a couple of minutes, I put the chicken back in and mixed it all up to finish cooking. I make my own version of rice. Finished off by garnishing with chopped green onions. This was great. I'll keep my eye out for more Indonesian recipes now that I know I can competently make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Everyone liked this (including my two year old) but I will say that I thought the recipe was a bit too thick...especially when reheated. But overall I liked the flavor and will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I expected more. Maybe it's because I used leftover rotisserie chicken or I cooked the sauce a little too long but the peanut butter taste was overpowering (and I love peanut butter and satays and such) and left my mouth really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I can't believe this got good ratings. The sauce is so watery that you can barely taste it, and I followed the recipe exactly. It would have been good if the chicken, green beans, and sauce were all cooked together and if the sauce was actually thick enough to stick to the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I love peanut-flavored dishes, but never knew how to make them until now. Easy. My grocery store didn't carry chili paste, so I tried chili sauce, but then after tasting the sauce, wanted it spicer with more "zing" so I used lots of hot sauce and doubled the lemon juice. I would suggest you follow the recipe; taste it; and then add whatever you think it needs (you may be happy without changing a thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'm finally getting around to reviewing this. We love it! It is now a "regular" in our meal rotation. At some point I'm going to try it with tofu instead of chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I am a big fan of peanut based sauces so I had to try this one. Overall I liked it, but there was something about the sauce that struck me a little off. I plan on trying some of the suggestions others have thrown out to improve upon it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was so good. I wasn't sure about adding the chicken to the peanut butter, so I just kept it to the side and dipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE peanut butter.. but I did NOT love this recipe. I followed it exactly and it just tasted like chicken and green beans rolled in PB. My boyfriend thought it was ok, but I could barely eat it. It needs some drastic changes. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States