Erin's Indonesian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was awesome! We made it with whole trimmed frozen green beans and brown rice. The next time I think I will add more chile paste as it wasn't very spicy (that may just be my paste though). We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I enjoyed this, but the rest of my family didn't. The peanut butter taste wasn't quite subtle enough. Perhaps I'll try again with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I had company over and didn't know what to make since the visit had been unsuspected. I found and decided to make this little gem and it turned out terrific! I like things very spicy while my company didn't. This recipe kept us both happy although I will definitely add more hot paste next time. As others suggested, I will also make extra sauce. It is wonderful as left overs!!!! I didn't have any green peas but had a bag of mixed frozen veggies. I used that instead and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I love peanut sauce but my husband and I just didn't care for this recipe. Was excited to try it but I don't think I will make again. It was okay but not a keeper for us- Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I did a little bit of change with this one. First I did not make white rice. I made yellow vegetable rice. I put an envelope of sazon (make sure you buy the one with coriander and annatto) and I put frozen veggies in with the rice. It all cooks together. It comes out really good. As for the chicken I cooked it first and I seasoned it with Adobo. Once the chicken was cook I mixed all the ingredients to make the sauce. Once the sauce was cooking for a bit I put in all the chicken in the sauce and cooked it. I let the chicken cook in the sauce covered for about 10 minutes. I also used beef booth since that is what I had on hand. It all come out really good. I did not use the green beans too since I made vegetable rice. Also I used a teaspoon of chilli powder because I could not find Chilli paste. I would defiantly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Excellent combination. My husband really enjoyed it even though he usually avoids "Thai" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Neither my family nor I liked this recipe. We just didn't care for the taste of the peanut sauce. I did substitute chili powder for chili paste as someone else suggested, but otherwise followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
The sauce can get a little too thick, so be careful about keeping it on the stove too long to thicken. Otherwise, this has turned into one of our all-time favorite stand by meals. Y-U-M!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is the favorite of all the dishes I make!! The flavor is absolutely wonderful!! I couldn't find red chile paste so I just used tomato paste with ground cayenne red pepper...absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
So, so good, but bland made as is. I made jasmime rice instead of plain white, using one tsp of canola, heat rice till coated and smells like popcorn, then add water, heat to boil, then turn to low, cover and cook 20mins (perfect rice every time!). I added thin sliced carrots with the beans, 1/2 tsp dark sesame oil, 1 tbsp white wine and 1tbsp fine grated fresh ginger (1/2 tsp dry) to the sauce mix, it was fantastic and smelled wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States