Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good - I was looking for a recipe that didn't use processed cheese. This recipe turns out creamy and has great flavor. I used chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon but other than that, I made it as written. I think I will add 1/2 tsp white pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very easy and delicious! I was looking for a recipe that called for real cheese. Was happy to find this one. I left out the flour completely and thickened it with cornstarch instead. Also, I added some pepper and garlic powder. My kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made some modifications and certainly, feel with those it's a 5-star. First, I melted the butter in a large pan, then sauted onion, minced celery, grated carrot, garlic and shallot, as I think this was the main reason for the flavor, without it, I think it would be lacking. I then added some white pepper and salt. After the veggies softened, I added only about 2 or 2 1/2 T flour, which ended up being plenty to thicken this. I like the idea of dry mustard, but did not have any on hand or would have added it. I whisked in the milk, slowly till well combined. I then added in the cooked broccoli that I had cooked in vegetable stock. I then pureed this a bit with an immersion blender. I then added the softened (room temp) cream cheese (only used about 4 oz) and whisked that in. I added the cheddar cheese (more like 1 1/2 cups) and stirred to melt it. I had reserved a bit of the cooked broccoli and chopped it small, to add some texture to the soup, which was really nice. I served this in mini bread bowl, big hit with the kids, for fun-factor! The base idea of this recipe is really good, mostly because it does not call for process cheese food or to add a can of 'cream of something' soup, but is much more HOMEMADE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is so good! I don't use processed cheese so this was perfect! I also added chopped carrots for extra nutrition and used a carton of broth instead of bouillon and water. My kids and husband loved it. This will be used again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this last night in the crock pot...it turned out great. Added the milk and cheese about 1/2 hour before I was going to eat it. My kids loved it...even my picky eater had 2 bowls full. I also blended it a bit at the end. My kids don't like onions, so if I can hide them I do. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I just made this and it's fabulous! It's such a thick and luxurious soup. The only things I did differently were adding some seasoning (salt, pepper, nutmeg and ground mustard),hit it slightly with the immersion blender, and using reduced fat cheddar, cream cheese and milk. I may use a little less cream cheese next time to loosen the consistency some. I am so glad to have found "the" broccoli cheddar soup for me and my family! If you like a certain bread company's broccoli cheddar, this is the closest homemade version I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Excellent!! I used chicken broth, added chopped chicken breast, baby carrots, onions, red pepper, celery, and garlic. Very tasty, warm, colorful, and filling. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The whole family loved this soup!! I followed recipe exactly. I made recipe for "Italian Bread Bowls" and I served the soup in the bread bowls! The soup had such a creamy silky texture. I will make this soup again -as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I had to add a few spices to this dish to make it more flavorful. I added garlic powder, salt and pepper, seasoning salt and even a bit of cinnamon to give it something special. This really added to the already good soup. The only complaint that I had was that it was a bit too creamy. In all fairness that's just my personal taste! Great recipe! Might try again with ham or bacon bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzbth488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was easy and great. Use the quantities exactly as is in the recipe, or you won't get that "OMG, this must be 2,000 calories per serving!" reaction you would have in a restaurant. That being said, I added garlic, dried mustard (as was suggested by another reviewer), and used a different sharp cheese. I think that you could use any sharp cheese you have on hand. I pureed it, as I didn't want to waste time making dainty chopped bits of brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States