Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! I did cut the cream cheese by about a 1/3 and the butter to 6 tbsp instead of 8 and used 3 tbsp flour, but put in 1.5 cups of cheese. Used 2 12oz bags of frozen broccoli (chopped in food processor after cooking). Also added salt, pepper, garlic powder. Still needed more salt in my opinion, but I like salty stuff. Very delicious- Husband, 4 yo daughter loved it, 2 yo son didn't (but he doesn't like cheese). Next time, I would cut the cream cheese and butter in half as it was still pretty rich. Soup would be good with potatoes and carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I used my own homemade chicken stock and about 1 1/2 cups good sharp cheddar.I also slightly browned the onions first with a little butter to give it a little more depth of flavor then added the onions to the broccoli after it was cooked. Next I used my immersion blender but I left lots of chunks of broccoli. The soup turned out thick and creamy and they loved the bits of whole broccoli. Great quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. My kids and their friends had seconds. We loved it. I used a bag of frozen chopped broccoli. We have enjoyed eating this on cold days. I love the fact it does not use processed cheese. Thanks for sharing. Sometimes I add a little spinach too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
My husband has been begging for a good cheesy broccoli soup. I don't eat it so I followed the recipe to the T. He LOVED it and asked for me to make a second batch 2 days later. I was also told explicitly that I was not allowed to change anything :) BTW- the cheese quality makes the dish. I bought the good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is very good and very easy! My family loves it! I add some shredded chicken if I have some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have tried other broccoli cheddar soups and this is by far the best. I have a gluten allergy so I subbed the "all-purpose flour" for a basic gluten free flour blend and it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Delicious! I just added a little garlic powder and black pepper to taste and used chicken stock/broth instead of water. The whole family loved it, and even my picky toddler, who hardly ever finishes her dinner, asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
After reading reviews changed things just a bit. Used 1/2 the amt. of cream cheese and 2 cups of all natural cheddar cheese. Also used homemade chicken stock. I decreased the butter to 5 tbs. and used skim milk. I made the changes to lighten up the soup a bit and decrease sodium without changing the recipe. I really like that it did not contain processed cheese. Will definitely make again. The serving size was about right for 4 good size bowls of soup, more if using just a cup for lunch or first course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made some modifications and certainly, feel with those it's a 5-star. First, I melted the butter in a large pan, then sauted onion, minced celery, grated carrot, garlic and shallot, as I think this was the main reason for the flavor, without it, I think it would be lacking. I then added some white pepper and salt. After the veggies softened, I added only about 2 or 2 1/2 T flour, which ended up being plenty to thicken this. I like the idea of dry mustard, but did not have any on hand or would have added it. I whisked in the milk, slowly till well combined. I then added in the cooked broccoli that I had cooked in vegetable stock. I then pureed this a bit with an immersion blender. I then added the softened (room temp) cream cheese (only used about 4 oz) and whisked that in. I added the cheddar cheese (more like 1 1/2 cups) and stirred to melt it. I had reserved a bit of the cooked broccoli and chopped it small, to add some texture to the soup, which was really nice. I served this in mini bread bowl, big hit with the kids, for fun-factor! The base idea of this recipe is really good, mostly because it does not call for process cheese food or to add a can of 'cream of something' soup, but is much more HOMEMADE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Just made this tonight, but I added more cheese. DELICIOUS! Goes great with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyFlash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States