Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. I ended up using garden vegetable flavor cream cheese (which I had bought by mistake and thought I'd end up having to waste since I don't normally like this flavor). But, it was really great in this recipe! I used 4 bouillon cubes vs. the granules since that was what I had on hand and it worked out great. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Made this for a 5-course meal for my mother and two sisters, which was my gift to my mother this last Christmas. All three of them were excited about broccoli soup, and they were impressed with this one. My sister said the soup was "very soothing" before asking for another bowl. I was going to bring some to my sick housemate, but he had fallen asleep. I followed the original recipe almost exactly (minus for exact measurements) except I used whipping cream instead of milk, and liquid veggie bouillon instead of meaty. All went well. The 1 cup of cheddar was fine, as the cream cheese was a nice, subtle cheesiness that tied together the cheddar with the cream nicely. I left the broccoli pretty chunky and it was good too -- though I can imagine this would be great as a blended chowder soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I didn't have cream cheese so I used cheddar cheese and butter I blended with a hand electric blender came out thick and creamy. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this exactly the way the receipt specified except I use two cubes of Knorr vegetable bouillon so it was vegetarian. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great soup! The only thing I did different was use veggie bouillon instead of chicken and added garlic/onion powder and salt to taste. Easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Yummy :) hint: if you cut the chicken, reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made it in the slow cooker. Grated the brocolli stalks and through them in. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe and perfectly heart-warming for a cold winter's day. I doubled the recipe (thank goodness!) and it turned out restaurant-quality. My teenage girls loved it tho they said they would prefer 'chunks' of broccoli. I used my immersion blender to make a really smooth soup but next time will leave some chunks and perhaps make some of the additions suggested by others. If not, it's excellent just the way it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECINC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wow this was good. I had a lot more broccoli than the recipe called for so I up'ed the ingredients and based on other reviewers I added carrots, onion and subbed butter for margarine. This was off the charts velvety smooth due to the cream cheese oh and I added more cheese - all things need more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I was thrilled to find a recipe without processed cheese food. Overall, the texture and flavour were good. I'd use more cheddar and less broccoli next time. Worked well with gluten free flour substitute, but not with corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States