Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I'm rating this the best even though I had some problems. It has a wonderful flavor. I didn't use the amaretto, just vanilla. But mine wouldn't get done. It was way too jiggly at the set time. It also puffed out over the sides of the pan so I think next time I'll try a 10 inch pan. When it cooled the edges tore off, but I made it look alright by adding a whipped cream edge and strawberry sauce on top. I will definitely use this recipe again and try to make it turn out right the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Excellent 5-STAR cheesecake! I also tried this recipe using 1/2 cup of Baily's Irish Cream instead of the amaretto and cut the butter down to only 1 cup, it was "sin-sational" also! Only difference in cooking method was that I preheated oven to 200 degrees and cooked it for 2 hours in hot water bath until done. All in all, and excellent, rich & creamy cheesecake... you can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
For me, not worth the time and effort. Wrong pan size, oven temperature, and baking time are given on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe a few times now for co-workers and at home. All of us thought it was terrific. I am almost commanded to make this for any work function now, they liked it that much. If I were single, I believe I could woo women with the power of this cheesecake alone. It's that good. A few prep notes--I have two "9 inch" springform pans, one is slightly larger--use a slightly larger pan, this fills it quite well. Also, I have found it best to refrigerate this overnight before serving it. The texture is better after being completely cooled. I also like to drizzle chocolate ganache on the top. Once when the top was a little over done, I covered it in ganache, just as or maybe even MORE yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was my first cheesecake, I followed the recipe eaxctly, but the cake came out very moist and soft. What could be the reason? Maybe I should leave it in the refrigerator longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I love making cheesecakes and this one is delicious and creamy. I do have a little problem when making this though...it always runs over the top of the pan. So I bought a 10 inch springform and it still ran over! I always do my cheesecakes in a water bath so at least it doesn't mess up my oven but it doesn't "look" pretty. I think my oven cooks too hot so I will try to lower the temp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vane
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This cake was Mmmm yummy, silky but consistent enough to feel as a substantial dessert. It was easy to make. Instead of amaretto I used vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was the first cheesecake I have ever made, and it was EXCELLENT!(Even people that say the don't like cheescake loved it). The only thing I did was to omit the amaretto because I was bringing it to an office colleagues birthday party. I made it in a heart shaped springform pan and followed the directions EXACTLY. I baked it the night before, so after it had sat in the oven with the door open, I refrigerated it overnight, and it came out great! I also made a mixed berry sauce to go over the top! Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
CAN'T MAKE IT OFTEN ENOUGH IT GOES SO FAST! BEST I've EVER HAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
This cheesecake is really really creamy and rich, definitely not for someone who's on a diet! this tastes better after being chilled for 1 day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States