Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Ok another added note. I too had problems with it rising over the top If you take a piece of parchment and line the inside of the pan sides, but somewhat higher, it won't go over the sides and your sides will be clean when you peel the paper off. I only gave it 4 stars because 70 min. is not enough time to bake. Even after being refrigerated over night and even into the next day, it was to underdone in the center. Probably needs to cook about 10-15 min. longer. Don't forget it is supposed to jiggle in the center when done. It firms as it cools. It also finishes cooking with residual heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I am rating this 5 star.. I have recently moved to Sweden the land without cheesecake and after much searching and creating.. THIS was the best one I could make. I have made it for 3 special occasions now and received rave reviews.. It is NOT for the amateur baker and is time consuming. But if you want to have something special it is well worth it.. :) I melted some dark chocolate and drizzled it over the top with halved strawberries for Midsummer to add some decor to it.. :) You know that its good when people mention it a few times to you even days after you have served it hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
The best cheesecake ever. I have made and served this too many people and gave it away as gifts I always get complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Best crustless cheesecake I've ever had [I don't like crusts, so this took me a while to find]. Super creamy, not too sweet [as most commercial cheesecakes are these days], just fantastic. My husband and mother loved it as well. They both enjoyed the texture, saying it was light without being too fluffy, firm without being too rich. I subbed the cream with extra sour cream, and the amaretto with extra vanilla. I baked it for 60 minutes, let it sit in the open oven for 60 minutes, and chilled in the fridge for about 17 hours [I made it at night and we tried it with lunch the next day]. The top edge burned a tiny bit, but my oven is awful, so the problem was most likely on my end. I cut off the burnt part and put cherry pie filling on top -- it didn't *need* it, but my tasters prefer cheesecake with cherries. Overall, a terrific recipe that I'll make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by creolepaul1975
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great recipe, I suggest you let it sit for 24 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creolepaul1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Best cheesecake I've had! love the amaretto in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I too had some problems with the cheesecake rising over the pan, but it settled back down once the oven was open. I would also recommend turning down the heat. Mine was pretty jiggly until it set around 24 hours and also began to burn on top. As far as taste....it's at the top of my list of the best cheesecakes I've ever eatin. Great taste and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarryLuv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made this cheesecake for a friend's birthday. He is a cheesecake critic. He loved it and said it was the best he has ever eaten. I will make it again and again. The water bath is a great trick. No longer are my cakes cracked in the center. You'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. We've made it for relatives in another state and brought it to them an ice chest and the cheesecake traveled very well. All the relative loved it so much we had to make another one for my mom before we left. Plan on making this recipe as mini cheesecakes for Christmas presents. Will make the master batter and devide by 4. Plan on using Southern Comfort, Kaluha, Grand Marnier for three of the cheesecakes and the 4th one will be the always delicious Amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I make this at least once a year, never had a problem, and everyone always asks for the recipe! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States