Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I have did this recipes repeatedly for the last 6-7 years, it is a no fail recipes and you can play with it, I sometimes add the amaretto, sometimes kaluha, chocalate chips it is a wonderful recipes, any one who says it does not work do not know how to cook, and get this I dont particular care for cheese cake, but every one I love do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Excellent Recipe! I did not add the amaretto and Have substituted other flavours instead like pumpkin and it always turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Excellent recipe, made it three times and it came out consistently great. Not that difficult, just follow the directions and it comes out fantastic. Several neighbors and friends have asked for the recipe. If it doesn't come out great for you each time you are not following the recipe correctly or your oven is off. I am not a baker and if I can do this anyone can. PS Didn't have Amaretto and used only the Vanilla, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This a delicious restaurant style cheesecake. It was the first New York style cheesecake I've ever made and it turned out perfectly. Make sure you chill it thoroughly or it will seem too soft. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was absolutely tremendous. I love to make cheesecakes. It was very creamy and had a great taste. As with previous reviews, the timing was way off. Baked at 300 for 2 1/4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Ephraim, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I've made a variation of this recipe many times. I myself add a tsp of cream of Tartar and also a bit of lemon zest. I also sometimes add a Graham cracker crust as well. I use a bit more almaretto. But my peaves with this recipe are the fact that you do indeed need a larger pan than stated. Even a 10 inch is a bit small. And I found that you need to almost double the cooking time and let cool on a closed oven for about 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have used this recipe many times, my friends ask for "the million $ cheesecake" everytime!!! as with any recipe, you learn what works best in your kitchen(oven) and build from there, Thank you Eric for my very favorite cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
What a TERRIBLE cheesecake this was for me! There was too much batter even though I used the right pan, it took way longer to cook and browned on top because of this. I reduced the temp but it was so slow baking that I couldn't wait another hour and a half. Even though I baked it forever, the slices were so loose that the just barely held together during serving. It didn't matter, though. The cake turned out grainy and had a very unpleasant mouth feel. I had added some lemon zest and an extra splash of bourbon vanilla extract which was good because this basically just tasted like sweetened cream cheese. I'm glad I avoided the amaretto not only because I don't like it but because my recipe was just a bit watery anyway. There was no depth or luxurious cheesecake experience that you get when they are truly wonderful. My feeling is that ricotta and cream cheese produces a more nuanced dessert, less one-note. The zest and vanilla (especially the bourbon kind, I've found) and maybe even a few slides across a rasp of a nutmeg would help cut the cream cheese. Wish I had better results like the rest of these reviewers but this experienced cook calls this recipe a definite fail. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Gorgeous cheesecake, everyone enjoyed it. I will adjust my oven temperature next time as it spilled over the sides and was a little bit dark on top. I made the top into a brulee using brown sugar to disguise it. Shall definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
dear eric i want to thank u for finally giving me this new york style cheese cake it was the best i ever made my friends and family love it and it really is new york cheese cake thank u so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States