Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I found that my cheesecake came out a little dry and not as dense as I like. I did half the recipe and use a smaller pan, as I was only having 4 people over for dinner. I don't know if that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
everyone luvs this cheesecake. i did add a twist, macadamia nut crust. try it. u wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This cheesecake is amazing! I followed the recipe to the letter (except I used a 10? springform and I took one of the other reviewers suggestions and switched the amaretto for extra vanilla since I wanted it to taste like a traditional NY cheesecake. It turned out beautifully - it actually looked exactly like the picture shown with the recipe. I triple wrapped my springform with tinfoil so no leaking would occur - worked perfectly. I also turned the oven off after it was done baking, but instead of opening the door I left it closed and left it in there for about 3 hours before I took it out to put in the fridge.... It sat in the fridge for 6 days before we ate it (I made it when I had the time) - and it was totally delicious. No ill effects from sitting so long (kept fresh in a cake saver). My husband loved it - said it tasted perfect - the only thing he was hoping for was for it to be a bit denser - he thought it was a little to creamy. I LOVED it just the way it was. - oh - and it still rose above the pan even though I used a 10? - but it settled back down again - no cracks, no sticking to the pan. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Followed recipe; reduced/substituted part of the amaretto with vanilla (in addition to vanilla already called for in the recipe) since I was concerned about having too strong of an Amaretto taste but after tasting the cheesecake, I would stay with the original recipe (exactly as it was written). I bought a turkey pan (aluminum) to set the springform pan and water in; it worked perfectly with ample separation between the springform pan and the foil pan itself. Had some slight leakage even with the foil wrapped around the springform pan as indicated. Also, before you add eggs be sure to stop mixer and use silicone spatula to break up any cream cheese that forms at the base of pan just as you would do on side of pan. I didn't realize this until after I poured batter out and found a portion that was not mixed in. I scraped it into springform pan but if you want a perfect outcome its best to get ALL of the cheese mixed before adding eggs. Also, I bought a cheap temp gauge to hang on from of oven rack; it read 350 degrees even though my oven said 375 degrees. I let the oven stay on for an extra 10 minutes before turning off oven and opening door for the cooling process. I suspect the oven was more true than the cheap gauge since the top of the cheesecake was slightly browner than the photo depicted. As for the results, SPECTACULAR and I didn't need to use a knife to loosen cake from springform pan (be liberal with the butter when prepping springform pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. To the letter perfect. I have made half a dozen with this recipe and I get a perfect cake every time, not to mention friends and family rave about the result. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli T.
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have never made a cheesecake before and this turned out AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I followed the reviews suggestions and did the waterbath, I baked it at 350 for 2 hours, then 1 hour with oven off and door open. When I pulled it out of the water bath I got a little nervous because some water had seeped in the layers of foil, but when I removed the spring pan side it was absolutely perfect, not over done, and not cracked at all. Will absolutely make this again as often as I can and share with all of my family and friends!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
this turned out perfectly, and was my first attempt at baking a cheesecake, or using a springform pan. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyjane_25
Home Town: Sesser, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Best cheesecake we ever made! So creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fabulous! Shoud have done the 2 hours at 200 degrees as suggested in one of the reviews. I cooked it at 300 for about 1.5 hours. Slightly under done but wonderful and creamy. Big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. (of course I removed all the calories before serving!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was my first real baked cheesecake recipe to try. It was a hit! I feel it turned out a bit bland so I plan on using more sugar and amaretto for flavor next attempt. Very creamy and delicious. I will continue to use this recipe as my cheesecake base. Thinking about adding chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States