Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Oh. My. Goodness. This is the only cheesecake I'll ever make -- better than most I've had in good restaurants! I did put a graham-cracker crust under it (son's birthday cake -- he loves crust), and skipped the water bath. VERY rich -- make sure you have plenty of friends to share with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The texture of this cheesecake is silky and dense. The egg does not dominate the flavor of this cake, but joins in with the creamy flavors of the cream cheese and sour cream. This works well in a ready made crust, home made crust or all by its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARKABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
i have made cheescakes in the past. And this one blows all the others away. My family is just amazed. And IT DOESNT SPLIT ! Would recommend highly. Also I have made this twice in less than 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I have to say this is the BEST cheesecake I have ever tasted!!! Everyone I have made it for loves it!!! Good going Eric!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is the very best cheesecake my husband and I have tasted. I have shared this recipe with other family members and they agree, IT'S THE BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I have been making this cheesecake for years...I do not use amaretto, simply because I never have any, still awesome! You must follow the directions on baking exactly, waterbath, leaving the oven door open for an hour, etc. Sometimes it is not done after 70 mins, I just leave in for 5 or 10 mins more. I like to make this the day before and refrigerate overnight. Top with cherries.....always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vane
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This cake was Mmmm yummy, silky but consistent enough to feel as a substantial dessert. It was easy to make. Instead of amaretto I used vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I love making cheesecakes and this one is delicious and creamy. I do have a little problem when making this though...it always runs over the top of the pan. So I bought a 10 inch springform and it still ran over! I always do my cheesecakes in a water bath so at least it doesn't mess up my oven but it doesn't "look" pretty. I think my oven cooks too hot so I will try to lower the temp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was the first cheesecake I have ever made, and it was EXCELLENT!(Even people that say the don't like cheescake loved it). The only thing I did was to omit the amaretto because I was bringing it to an office colleagues birthday party. I made it in a heart shaped springform pan and followed the directions EXACTLY. I baked it the night before, so after it had sat in the oven with the door open, I refrigerated it overnight, and it came out great! I also made a mixed berry sauce to go over the top! Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe a few times now for co-workers and at home. All of us thought it was terrific. I am almost commanded to make this for any work function now, they liked it that much. If I were single, I believe I could woo women with the power of this cheesecake alone. It's that good. A few prep notes--I have two "9 inch" springform pans, one is slightly larger--use a slightly larger pan, this fills it quite well. Also, I have found it best to refrigerate this overnight before serving it. The texture is better after being completely cooled. I also like to drizzle chocolate ganache on the top. Once when the top was a little over done, I covered it in ganache, just as or maybe even MORE yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States