Eric's Best New York Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe makes almost twice what you need. It will bubble over the edge if you make it in the proportions the recipe lists. I put a crust on the bottom and cut it in half. You also don't need to go to the trouble of wrapping the pan in foil and doing a bath. If you take a cookie sheet and fill it with water it provides enough humidity to keep it from cracking. Cook it for the first 20 minutes on the 375 listed, but after 20 minutes turn it down to 325. It will burn on top if you cook it for a full hour on 375. Make sure to let it cool in the oven or else it will not come out flat on top. (I personally like to double the amaretto.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was my first cheese cake, so I read a lot of reviews. I baked mine at 275 for about 3 !/2 hours, I know this may seem like a long time for a cheese cake but it never burned and came out perfect. I didnt use a water bath and the cake never split. This was a huge hit in my faMILY, who were very skeptical AT MY COOKING ABILITY. I did have a little batter left over and tried not to fill the 9 inch cake pan too much because it did rise about 1/2 inch. If I can make a cheese cake to die for any one can! Just be patient and lower the heat and cook a little longer and you too will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was my first ever attempt to make cheesecake.....AND IT TURNED OUT AWESOME! I was so nervous that it might flop, but no way....it was great...maybe the best ny style cheesecake I ever had! And I made it! Thank you so much for the great recipe. I'lll be making it again for Thanksgiving. I modified the recipe only by adding a graham cracker crust on bottom of springform pan (one hint here....some recipes say bake the crust for 10 minutes, some recipes say don't bake the crust. I choose not to because I don't like a really hard crust, but next time I make the cheesecake I will bake crust, but maybe just for 5 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Criscitello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is by far the best cheesecake recipe I've ever made! I follow the directions to the T, and it always comes out great! Everyone just raves about this cheesecake every time I make it! It takes a while-but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was my first time making a cheesecake, and I made this recipe for my work and it was a huge huge hit everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used this recipe but added a graham cracker crust & substituted the amaretto(didn't have it on hand) with almond extract. I had to cook it for an additional 40mins at 325 degrees. The taste was amazing. I'll definitely be adding this recipe to my holiday menu from now on!!! Next time I'll add a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnyon Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I don't have a spring pan but I'm going to get one after this recipe. I love it although I made it in two pie pans. I used 1 teaspoon almond extract instead of Ameratto and cut five minutes cooking time. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was by far the best cheesecake I have ever eaten! I made it for my hubbys birthday last night, and it was a hit with everybody. I cooked it on 325 degrees for 1 hour 30 mins instead, then shut the oven off and let it sit in there for 3 hours with the door shut. Turned out perfect! Couldn't be happier :) This is one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gourmet Photog
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Awesome! Made it for Saint Patrick's Day and it was a huge hit. My oven runs hot so next time I'd lower the temp...other than that, it was delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Ok, first of all this recipe seems too rich for any human to consume. Only gods should be able to indulge in this heavenly dessert. I had a little bit of trouble with this the first time because I used a 9" cake pan instead of a spring form pan. The recipe says 375 for 70 mins. but that browned her too fast even with a proper water bath. The 2nd time around I set the oven at 300 for 2 hrs. The result was a rich, creamy, smooth fluffy texture that was to die for! I only need to learn how to get the cleanest cut for pretty slice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States