Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I made this twice exactly by recipe. While it is very good, it had an odd taste that a few in the family did not like. I omitted the garlic and changed the soup to cream of celery (added fresh mushrooms with carrots, though), and it was a bit better, but still not perfect. I tried with the celery soup and no garlic, again, BUT added three tblsp. worceshire sauce (4 lb. roast) and THAT was the winning combo! Everytime I made the roast, I added over one lb. of baby carrots and two stalks of celery to bottom of crockpot. After 7 or 8 hours, I added bite-sized cut red potatoes (skin on) on top. Cooked 9 to 10 hours every time for perfect doneness of veggies and meat, as well as moist meat. Cooking on LOW is best. For those who don't like cream soups, replace with a can of beef broth, add the worceshire, and dredge the roast with flour before browning. This will give you a grand, flavorful result, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
HELPFUL SUGGESTIONS NOT MENTIONED: If you're cooking this for 8+ hours with a 2lb chuck roast and adding potatoes, celery and carrots, I suggest adding 1C of beef broth or the whole can (2C). A beef bouillon diluted in 1C of hot/boiling water also works. I cooked the garlic in the oil that I browned the meat. Have no idea why 16 was the magic number of carrots for her recipe, but I just put as many as I feel my family will eat. Sometimes we add some onions ...sometimes we don't if our guests don't like them. It makes no difference. I definitely recommend adding a 1.5T of Worcestershire sauce and a bay leaf. I also sprinkle some McCormick's Slow Cookers Hearty Beef Stew seasoning package like other reviewers recommend when making other recipes on this site. Big difference! This finished sooner than I thought (4hrs - 2lb meat), but I continued to cook it until we ate dinner (10-12 hrs), and it just got better with time (but needed more liquid). While there was still gravy in the end, there wasn't that much. I spray PAM along the sides if it looks like it's burning, and it works like a charm! If you use this for beef stroganoff over some noodles, you must add 4oz of cream cheese right before serving for it to truly taste like traditional stroganoff! When I feel like having potatoes on the side, I use the honey potato recipe (1 lb red potatoes quartered, 1T butter, 3T honey, and 1t dry mustard - bake 40 min). My toddlers love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I love this recipe and use it every time I make a roast. I use a shoulder roast and add potatoes. It's really good if you use Campbell's Roasted Garlic Cream of Mushroom soup. Adds a little extra flavor. I have also found that the slower and longer you can let it cook, the better. I have been rushed before and cooked it on high in my crock pot for less time and the meat comes out tough. This is a great recipe to start early on a Sunday morning for a delicious Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Wonderful roast - I didn't bother browning it though. I used a 3lb. roast and put it over a layer of portabella mushrooms. I added 1/4 cup of beef broth and 3 Tbsp. of low sodium soy sauce along with 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup. I also added the garlic and parsley. I left out the carrots and cooked this on low for 8 hours. It was falling apart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I made this twice, once with a two pound blade roast and the other with a 4 pound cross rib roast - both times I added a few drops of Worchestershire sauce, and both times about the best roast we have ever had! Not at all dry and very, very tasty. We had the leftovers with gravy on bread so we could enjoy it all over again. I cooked the roasts for about 9 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriJeannine
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is one of my most favorite recipes! It is so very good and DH loves it. I add potatoes to mine and a can of beef broth. I saute the garlic in the oil used to brown the roast and then add the broth and the cream of mushroom soup. It is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriJeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Mc Gregor, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I'm giving this a 5 even though it was a little bland. I was ecstatic when I found a Laura's Lean Beef roast at Target! It was only 2 pounds, so I searched for a recipe using a 2 pounder. Definitely use at least double the amount of carrots- I made it as written & wished I had used more. I also would cut down on the onion & maybe use the mushroom soup with either herbs or extra garlic. The cut of meat was totally lean- & fell apart! I took the suggestion of cooking for 7 hours & that was perfect- being that it is such a small roast. Turned out really tender & the amount of gravy was perfect. Thanks Erica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
How can you rate a recipe when you change all of the original ingredients? I hate when people do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Purty darn good slow cooked pot roast! Hubby loved it. The second time I made it I used beef stew meat and added a cup of beef broth and a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. It makes a wonderful beef stew too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was fantastic! We seasoned the roast with a rub composed of 2 cloves of fresh crushed garlic and a 1/2 tsp.salt and 1/4 tsp of black pepper prior to browning. We also added a 1/4tsp of crushed red pepper and an additional two cloves of sliced garlic to the oil while it heated prior to browning; after that, we followed the recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States