Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very tasty! My adjustments: I coated the meat in flour and seasonings and seared it in fresh garlic and onion. I added a can of cream of celery ( we like a lot of gravy!) and used beef broth. I added a tbsp of Worcestershire as well. I cooked the vegetables in the pot just to cut down on the prep work, they turned out great as well. I used a beef shoulder roast, and while it was tasty, it wasn't falling apart like I really wanted, though it was still easily cut with a steak knife.. I don't feel this is due to anything relating to this recipe though, I think it was just a tough piece of meat- I plan on making it again with the same cut of meat, and I plan on adding several more hours in the pot ( a couple on high) to see if that does the trick .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Was so delicious!My 2 kids loved it!a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious--the meat just fell apart. I did add more carrots and potatoes than called for since we like more. I also used the whole package of onion soup since I wasn't sure I'd use the other half. Gave it lots of extra good flavor. A definite improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very easy and good. The roast turned out so tender, it almost just fell apart. I followed some of the suggestions: added a can of french onion soup, dredged the meat in flour and sauteed the meat for only 2 minutes per side and added a little Worcestershire sauce and extra seasoning. It's mild tasting, so be sure to add a little extra seasoning if you like things with a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used to make this a lot years and years ago. Glad you jogged my memory about it. I think I'll make it this week. It's wonderful. I love to read the reviews and how others adjust to their tastes. I pick and choose those ideas that would suit my family. I understand the ratings are based on their changes. The original recipes give us a good jumping off place. I have taken some wonderful recipes from this site and picked some tweaks for my family and just got RAVE reviews from company. Thanks to all for your ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I also add 1 can of french onion soup mix with the mushroom soup. We love it cooked this way. No matter what cut of meat it is so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Redding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as is. It was a little bland but the meat came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family LOVED this stew! A keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious! finally the perfect pot roast! The only alteration I made was to add more seasoning to the meat and veggies ( steak seasoning ), since my tastes are more on the spicy side.. other than that it works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was great- so tender and delicious. I used Pacific Foods Natural Cream of Chicken soup, a pound of baby carrots, and added a few potatoes too. We ate this with peas and Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding, also from this site. This did not look like it'd make much gravy at first, but by the time we ate it, there was plenty. Cooked on High for 1.5 hours, then set the temp to Low and this was ready to eat in about 6 hours. (I used a meat thermometer to make sure).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States