Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I have never wrote a review, and I knew that I had to for this recipe, I made this with a few modifications, but here is what I did. I browned my roast in olive oil, then browned garlic in the oil that I browned my meat in. I set the meat aside and i had put 1 can of cream of celery soup in the crock pot, as well as 1 can of beef broth, about a lb of green beans, 3 red potatoes, the garlic, 1/2 onion quartered, and then put the roast on top, then I sprinkled about 1 tsp(I eyeballed it) of Ms Dash on top of the roast, as well as about 1 T of Daddy Hinkles on top then set it on low for 13 hrs, and OMG it was divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is the first time I have made a beef roast and not had it turn out all dry and stringy. Perfect and delicious. I did add 8 small potatoes quartered and 1 cup beef broth. Yummy Recipe!!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This recipe worked out quite well for me. I used cream of celery soup (we don't like mushrooms), and it all tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caleb's Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I followed the basic recipe but added a few things of my own. I put carotts and mushrooms on the bottom, onion soup mix on top of the roast and added 3/4 cup of water and tbsp. of worstershire sauce. Cooked for 8 hrs on low and served with mashed potatoes. Very tender and the sauce was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was excellent! The only thing different that I did was added potatoes instead of carrots, and I added 1 can of beef broth. I cooked it on low for 8 hours. It was soooooo tender and fell off the fork - exactly how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My husband followed this recipe exactly. It was the best pot roast that we ever had! This also made a nice gravy to pour over the mashed potatoes. It was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars as a "base" recipe, but as written, I think the result would be too bland for my taste. As recommended by others, I added a bay leaf, 1.5 Tbsp worcestershire, and a dash of red wine to the gravy mixture. I also added an extra can of cream of mushroom soup and quite a lot of beef broth to cover the meat. I added quartered mushrooms toward to the gravy toward the end of cooking, but elected to cook carrots and mashed potatoes separately. I cooked a 2 3/4 lb roast for about 7.5 hours on low and it was just a little dry. I might make this again with changes, but it doesn't go in the "favorite" meal category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The meat was cooked perfect but this recipe had no flavor... my family made fun of it all through dinner and then after... sorry but not a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was the best roast I have made. I used a 3 lb. arm roast browned in a skillet then laid over a bed of diced onions and garlic that were soaking in 2.5 cups of beef broth. I made slits in the beef to insert garlic cloves, covered with roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup (yes, we love garlic) and cooked it on low for 7 hours. It was sooo tender and delicious. I did have to add some flour to make the gravy, probably due to the extra broth but it was delicious! Instead of adding carrots or potatoes I made a dutch potato recipe (found on this site) which is basically mashed potatoes with carrots. All of it was a hit with even my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Really easy and tasted great, but could have used a little more flavor. I added in the worcestershire and sauteed garlic but will do a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Mello

Displaying results 111-120 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States