Ensalada Rusa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
The beets and pink color conjured great interest during our lunch, but once everyone tried it, they loved it (even my 5 year-old)! I used 2 pounds of potatoes, 3 beets, 4 eggs, safflower mayo, and a bit of chipotle seasoning. It made enough for about 8 people, and was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Yum, will make again. I had some beets to use up. I made with Vegennaise and it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I live in Central America and this is one of my favorite salads. It's great as published but even better with a little fresh chopped cilantro added. Please use fresh beets as called for in the recipe. The taste and texture will suffer if you use canned, and don't even attempt it with pickled beets or sweetened (Harvard) beets. If you're looking for a variation on ordinary potato salad, give this a try. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is simply wonderful. The combination of four simple ingredients couldn't be better. The crunch of the beets, followed up with their earthy taste is the perfect complement to the potatoes and eggs. Once you stir in the mayonnaise, the pink hue makes it even more interesting. Season to your own taste. This recipe is great without any changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
A taste of home for my Colombian husband, whose country has a variation on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Thank you... Thanks for the recipe. I'm Nicaraguan and this is very close to what I remember... I don't have fresh beets at the moment, so will try a can substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: EstelĂ­, EstelĂ­, Nicaragua
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this with chopped onions and pickles! Love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I eliminated the potato to make a beet and egg salad and really loved it. It's great when the beets take center-stage; they're so tasty! Also, I used plain Greek yogurt in lieu of the mayo to add protein and make it healthier in general. Pretty color, of course, too! I used to eat this in Argentina all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States