English Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've never made a walnut pie and was skeptical. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I give this five stars for amazing taste and ease of preparation. I did experience some difficulties in the cooking process, but I know that was due to my inexperience with making walnut/pecan pies and also because of my horrible oven and its temperature issues. I followed the baking directions exactly, but my pie was still noticeably underdone even after an extra 20 minutes. I raised the temperature, but it was still hard for me to tell when it was done, and eventually I overcooked it. I did some post-baking research and found a link on savorsa dot com (which I can't apparently post in this review, because it was removed) which discusses the various baking times/temperatures for pecan pies and how to tell when they are done. It was very useful for me as a beginner with pecan/walnut pies, so I wanted to mention it in case it helps other people, too. Again, this is an excellent recipe. Clearly, the baking time/temperature works well for other people, so I'm not going to be one of Those People who 1-star a recipe based on what are obviously their own personal issues. But if you think you might need more information than the recipe provides for knowing when the pie is done ("continue baking for 35 to 45 minutes" is kind of vague for non-experts), then check out some other resources beforehand. I will definitely make this again using this recipe's ingredients, but I will use a different baking time/temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This pie is wonderful! I used dark Karo and added 2 rounded Tablespoons of flour, for a thickening agent. My husband likes it better than pecan pie.....and THAT's saying something. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muriel Holmes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy to make and tastes wonderful. I used grandma Ruth's pie crust recipe. I added extra walnuts and cinnamon and maple extract to the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
mmmmmmmmm- a true crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving and received many compliments. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS! I had my heart set on pecan pie this Thanksgiving, but with the price of pecans, I knew that I had to find another alternative...this fit the bill! While it's not a PECAN pie, it's very yummy and filled the craving. This will definitely be made again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Beautiful, AND delicious! The only thing I changed was I added some chopped up Hershey's chocolate- yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I going to add one more 5 star review to this delicious pie. It's FANTASTIC! I did switch dark corn syrup for the light corn syrup and I like the added depth of flavor. I read a lot of the reviews that said they used maple syrup and I can totally see that happening and being really good, but I don't like maple. I did add an extra 1/3 cup of walnuts, but that's just my gig, I like walnuts. I really like pecan pie but it's go GAWDAWFUL sweet and rich that I can't eat more than a tiny sliver. This is not like that...it is sweet, yes, but, seriously, I could eat this whole pie...it's that good! It's great with a cup of coffee, which is what I'm doing right now. Thank you, Vivian, for submitting this delicious recipe and I'll be making another one of these for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Didn't have the 3/4c of light corn syrup on hand so I substituted 1/2c of Agave Nectar instead -- the pie came out absolutely delicious. ..Will make again soon to use up all the extra walnuts I have in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States