English Walnut Date Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I experimented with this cake having had one of a similar name at a wedding. This was different, but wow, was it great! I took it to work and everyone wanted the recipe. I enjoy it without icing, but added, for work, an icing made of 1 and 1/4 c. icing sugar, sifted, 2 tbsp. softened butter, and maple syrup until it was the consistency to drizzle over the cake. I found by purchasing chopped dates separated by a little flour, that the prep time was considerably shortened. I also found that I could make some extra cupcakes as the recipe was quite large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I am new to baking and this was just the third cake I tried, ever. It came out really well. I took it to a friend's place for dinner and the cake got over in no time. I scaled the recipe for 8 servings instead of 16 and reduced the amount of dates and walnuts by half since the ingredients are expensive and I am not very experienced. The cake still came out really well. The one thing I realized half way through was that there were very little wet ingredeients and after I added the yolk, the batter was still not wet and homogenous. I almost gave up at that point. If you are new to baking, don't worry about this, the cake turns out yummy despite this. Another hurdle was the dates; they were really soft and were sticking to each other. I dusted each piece with flour before mixing them with the other dry ingredients and the remaining flour. This can be time consuming, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is more of a confection than a cake - and it is wonderful. Unbelievably delicious, and extremely beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Absolutely delicious! This has become a Chritmas time favourite in our family. I use light muscovado sugar instead of white sugar for a more wholesome flavour. I also often halve the recipe and bake the cake in an 8 inch tube pan. Turns out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This cake is absolutely amazing! I had my doubts while mixing the ingredients because after adding the yolks it stayed quite dry. Next up were the egg whites and THEN it all made sense. It began to stick together. I didn't press it all together or pat it down in the pan but I think I'll do so next time. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't change anything. This is such a simple recipe but wonderful and old fashioned-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
i'm not sure why it turned out like it did, but it wasn't even a "cake" anymore. more like a combination of walnut and dates clumped together. still quite yummy, but i would recommend a bit more sugar. maybe make sure that you have enough flour and eggs to have a more cakelike consistency to the batter before baking. definitely will try again, even thought the ingredients are slightly expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I made this for Christmas and everyone raved about it! I also made a granadilla flavoured icing that i drizzled over it and the tanginess really complemented the cake flavour. Will definately be making this every year for christmas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this for Christmas this year and got good reports on it from friends. It is an easy cake to make. I had to pit and chopped the dates by hand - this took a while but otherwise it is not time consuming to make. I used a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a recipe I have been searching for to make for my hyusband. His mother made it at Christmas. Her recipe added marishino cherries so i ADDED A 16 oz jar to the recipe with the other ingredients...Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I don't know what I did, but it came out extremely dry, but it had a really good flavor to it. I would make it once more, just in case it was me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States