English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Really good! I followed suggestions of others and added sherry to the bottom of my individual dessert glasses- NOT good! I get that it's traditional, but no one liked it. The rest of the dessert was amazing and really quick to make. I did leave out the bananas just because I didn't have any on hand, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Next time I make it, no booze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beejams
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is my favorite go to dessert. I made a weight-friendly version of it on the 4th of July. Used angel food cake, and instant pudding with fat-free milk. I also used all fresh berries. By the way, I always soak each cake layer with sherry. Another reviewer commented that even the men always love it. I agree. My husband does not eat much dessert. He never turns this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was a hit at my 4th of July party. I just used 1 cake too, and instead of the almond slivers and maraschino, I sliced and pitted real cherries and interspersed fresh mint leaves from my garden. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Took it to a small party and everyone had some. It was the talk of the table. I used a 10 inch loaf of angelfood and it was still a lot of cake. I recommend more pudding. It was almost lost in everything else. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
really good i did make several changes i used lemon pudding , i added blackberries , and i added strawberry jello squares . i added orange zest to the whipping cream . everybody love it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I was a little bit skeptical about the custard... but it worked really well! My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this today for a light Christmas dessert. I used angel food cake, 2 packs vanilla pudding, 1 tub Cool Whip, 2 bananas, 2 kiwi, pineapple slices, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries. Didn't do strawberries as my guy is allergic. FANTASTIC - you can't go wrong with this - any berry/fruit will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RGW
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Excellent! Easy to make, use any fruit & combination. I used fresh strawberries, raspberries, black berries, banana, blue berries & kiwi with an angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RGW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Really really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States