English Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
There are no hard & fast rules for trifle. This recipe looks great, will have to try it. My mom was from Scotland, so she made trifle for special occasions often. Instead of the pudding, she used custard sauce made from Custard Powder, usually found in the cake aisle near the pudding & jello mixes. She also substituted diluted jello mix (just the hot portion) of choice for the sherry, sprinkling over cubed angel food cake. And if there was no fresh fruit available, she substituted a can of fruit cocktail, drained. It's great to have all these variations! Each are unique and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great recipe! Everyone loved it ! It was easy to make, and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is fabulous! I made for a family cookout, and not only is this dessert very pretty, it tastes even better than it looks! I think this dessert would be good if the recipe was followed exactly, but I made a few minor changes as to the ingredients I already had. I made an Angel Food cake, and used half to cube, and I used whipped cream, and French Vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this for Easter dinner. It was a huge hit!! It looks very impressive and is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was really good. I made a gluten free pound cake and used it for the cake, as well as substituting raspberries and blueberries for the bananas. The only thing I would change is to use 2 packages of vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Really good! I followed suggestions of others and added sherry to the bottom of my individual dessert glasses- NOT good! I get that it's traditional, but no one liked it. The rest of the dessert was amazing and really quick to make. I did leave out the bananas just because I didn't have any on hand, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Next time I make it, no booze. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beejams
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is my favorite go to dessert. I made a weight-friendly version of it on the 4th of July. Used angel food cake, and instant pudding with fat-free milk. I also used all fresh berries. By the way, I always soak each cake layer with sherry. Another reviewer commented that even the men always love it. I agree. My husband does not eat much dessert. He never turns this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was a hit at my 4th of July party. I just used 1 cake too, and instead of the almond slivers and maraschino, I sliced and pitted real cherries and interspersed fresh mint leaves from my garden. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Took it to a small party and everyone had some. It was the talk of the table. I used a 10 inch loaf of angelfood and it was still a lot of cake. I recommend more pudding. It was almost lost in everything else. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
really good i did make several changes i used lemon pudding , i added blackberries , and i added strawberry jello squares . i added orange zest to the whipping cream . everybody love it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States