English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This trifle was delicious and a big hit with everyone! I have tried trifle with instant pudding this beats it hands down. A note of caution: As a reviewer noted below custart recipe does NOT cover it at all. Be prepared to double or possibly even triple the custard portion of the recipe. It is worth it though. I used ladyfingers which were wonderful. I used strawberry jam and cut up fresh strawberries and bananas and layered it in the trifle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was so easy! I wanted to fill my trifle bowl to the top, so I used 2 frozen 1 lb. Sara Lee pound cakes. I spread some of the cubes with raspberry curd and some with good raspberry jam. This added some really cool color contrast. I also made more whipped cream (with a little rum and vanilla) and extra custard (added vanilla there too). My guests adored it as did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
when i was a lil girl my dad used to make a trifle on highdays :) and this is what it should taste like its great,thanks dear polly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
i whipped this trifle together for a luncheon with a friend, and we couldn't get enough. Am making it tonight for the family as I didn't have any leftover yesterday!!!!!!!!!!! Was the best best best I ever had, so easy, and once you make it with "custard" as opposed to instant pudding, you'll be a convert!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Great recipe! This was my first time making trifle. It is a bit time consuming and recipe needs to be doubled to feed a family. Added vanilla to the custard and to the whipped cream as well. Turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This is real trifle - instant pudding is a big NO NO when it comes to making English trifle. Thanks. I had lost my good custard recipe and I think this one will replace it. Not for those on a diet!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
All I can say is WOW. This was my first time making Trifle and this was delish. I did make some changes due to the size of dish I was trying to fill. I used twice as many raspberries and doubled the recipe for the custard. I used this extra to make the trifle with three layers instead of just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
We made this to take to a personal wine tasting, and the wine we were tasting was Riesling. As you probably know, many Rieslings are very sweet - and this was the perfect complement. The sweetness comes from the cake and fruit, and the cream just emphasizes the fruit flavor. Great recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
My family members almost inhaled this. They loved it! I made it for this Christmas 2006. As always, I rarely follow a recipe completely. I substituted the vanilla pudding with a Jello Cheesecake mix (omit the graham cracker crust) and along with the raspberries I also added 2 bananas (1 per layer). For the festive occasion, I also added marshino cherries and sprinkled health bits in between the cherries all on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States