English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this for a family event and it was AWESOME! It's light yet full of flavor! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I did this for a pot luck at work and it was a great hit. I did find that I had to use more cream than suggested but it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Great recipe which went down a treat. A variation to the recipe I did was to use ready made custard, drizzled sherry over sponge cake and used strawberrries and raspberries. Really quick and Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Rachel tried to make this on the show Friends, I'm sure this one was much better hehe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Adriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Yummy! I was having trouble brushing on the preserves, as the cubes kept crumbling. It was easier for me to layer the cubes in the dish, and then spread the preserves on top. Served it today to friends and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
much much better than the instant vanilla pudding trifles. definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was so easy! I wanted to fill my trifle bowl to the top, so I used 2 frozen 1 lb. Sara Lee pound cakes. I spread some of the cubes with raspberry curd and some with good raspberry jam. This added some really cool color contrast. I also made more whipped cream (with a little rum and vanilla) and extra custard (added vanilla there too). My guests adored it as did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
i actually didn't like the custard. it didn't make very much and it was very runny and tasted too much like the cream. i wound up substituting it with another recipe i had. i did do the raspberry jam part and that part was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
Three adults loved this trifle...one was me. Next time I am going to use jello cook and serve vanilla pudding instead of the custard. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This trifle was delicious and a big hit with everyone! I have tried trifle with instant pudding this beats it hands down. A note of caution: As a reviewer noted below custart recipe does NOT cover it at all. Be prepared to double or possibly even triple the custard portion of the recipe. It is worth it though. I used ladyfingers which were wonderful. I used strawberry jam and cut up fresh strawberries and bananas and layered it in the trifle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States