English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is so good! The homemade custard is so much better than instant pudding. I used in season berries and this can definitely be delicious with any combo you want. I made it for my work and I everyone wanted the recipe and for me to make it again right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lansdowne, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
following changes: 1 layer of cake 1 pint strawberries + 1 banana 2 cups pudding 2 cups whipped cream repeat 1 more layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Amazing! I made this for christmas and everybody loved it! I used a vanilla pod for the custard and didn't use the jam. I sprinkled fresh berries with sugar and let their juices moisten the cake. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent flavor. Like others suggested... a) I doubled the custard recipe, b) added vanilla to the custard and the whipped cream. c) used Sara Lee frozen pound cake d) made it in layers: Layer 1: pound cake spread with seedless raspberry jam, then sprinkled with frozen raspberries and sherry, then spread with half the custard. Layer 2: Repeat layer 1. Then spread with whipped cream and toasted slivered almonds. My only difficulty was that my custard didn't set too well, despite adding 2 or 3 spoons of cornstarch. I'll have to read up on making custard to find out what I did wrong. Other than the custard being runny, it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this trifle for christmas in 2010 and everyone loved it. I did have to double the recipe to fill my huge trifle dish to the top. I will make this dish every year for Christmas. A new Christmas tradition to be charished and longed for all year. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This disappeared in 5 minutes! Very simple to make. I used lady fingers lined the bottom and sides of the bowl. I used raspberries and strawberries. As it was being devoered, everyone made suggestions for other fruit and flavors. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this recipe in 6 miniature trifle cups, and it was a hit. However, I used a custard mix and topped the dessert with strawberries and blackberries instead of strawberries and blueberries. I also used my grandmother's delicious whipped cream recipe which has a healthy dose of vanilla and sugar in it. The miniature trifles looked rather gourmet when finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j'adorelacuisine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is almost exactly how my mom makes it...only difference is she moistens the sponge cake with sherry. Super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for the first time for Easter and it was a HUGE hit! I took some other reviewers' advice and added vanilla to the custard, and vanilla & sugar to the whipping cream. I'm not sure if I cooked the custard long enough, since it was a bit runny (will add a little cornstarch w/ milk next time). I put sliced strawberries in one layer, and bananas & kiwis in the next layer. Even though it was a little "soupy", it still tasted DELICIOUS and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States