English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent! I made this for a party and served it individual dishes. I also put a little bit of orange liquor. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Always a hit, especially at holiday time. You can change the fruit to what you like but bananas, strawberries and raspberries are always a good bet. Being British, I miss the desserts so much here in the USA. You don't have to have sherry in the bottom but it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
even though my custard didn't turn out, i am giving this five stars because i'm sure i did something wrong. I think i cooked it too long because the custard curdled. I cooked some vanilla pudding as a substitute and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This was my best trifle so far. I made some modifications I believe added to the success. 1. Added orange liquor to the sponge cake. 2. Added sugar and vanila to the whipping cream while whipping. 3. Made the sponge cake using the lemon chiffon cake recipe in allrecipes. 4. Made my own raspberry jam/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suriya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This rocked! One of my guests tried to take the whole bowl for himself; I had what leftovers I could keep out of his reach for breakfast! Super easy and a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My first time making trifle, and it was such a success, got rave reviews!!! my brother-in-law almost ate the whole thing, lol. I wanted a thicker custard, so i stirred a tablespoon of cornstarch into a little bit of milk, and added this to the egg mixture. I also had to double the recipe for the custard. I used fresh bananas, strawberry jam (couldn't find raspberry jam) and layered it in the trifle. Awesome!!! Thank you! thank you! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very good. I cooked the custard a bit too long - I was afraid it wouldn't thicken once I cooled it, but I should have had faith. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I am evil and don't like raspberries. See, I told you. Anyway, I use peach or strawberry preserves and it's marvelous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This is real trifle - instant pudding is a big NO NO when it comes to making English trifle. Thanks. I had lost my good custard recipe and I think this one will replace it. Not for those on a diet!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this for a family Christmas gathering. Everyone couldn't get enough! There was some left over, and it got better each time it was served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States