English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I did have a few issues. First of all, the custard was too thin as written; if you can whisk in a tablespoon or two of cornstarch, I'm sure that would help it thicken. I had to chill the custard for HOURS before it was even near thick enough to layer on. When I poured it on, it drizzled all the way to the bottom and covered up all the pretty layers I'd made. *insert boo boo lip here* but I did garnish it with a few leftover fresh raspberries and some chopped up Skor chocolate bars, delicious. My husband and most dinner guests loved it! May make again, but need to tweak that custard. Daughter suggested homemade PUDDING instead of custard; will search out some recipes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trece33
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
OMG!!!!!!!!I DID IT!!!!!!!!! I made this for the FIRST TIME last night and TOOK it to CHURCH TODAY for our homecoming luncheon. It looked sooo... pretty and I PRAYED that it tasted as good as it looked!! Well, You know that GOD has ANSWERED your PRAYERS when the PREACHER takes the time out to pat you on the back and say "YOUR DESSERT WAS DELICIOUS!!!" The only tweaks that I made was... DEFINITELY DOUBLE the CUSTARD and WHIPPING CREAM. While cooking on MED-LO I added 2 TBLSP of cornstarch mixed with a little milk to help thicken the custard. I also added 4 TBLSP of sugar to the custard mixture and Whipped Cream. The custard was kind of bland so I added 2 tsp. of vanilla to the custard mixture and whip cream, but it was still missing something so I added 1 tsp of CHAMPAGNE EXTRACT from concentrate and that changed the flavor and made all the difference. So, if you can't find the champagne extract experiment with the flavor of your choice to wake it up a little bit. I used FRESH FRUIT and CRUSHED HEATH TOFFEE CANDY instead of almonds for the garnish. I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used an angelfood cake and strawberry jam.... with strawberries and blueberries. I also doubled the custard and added some sugar (3 T) and vanilla to my whipped cream. It turned out quite well... and was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I did not like the sponge cake with this. I thought the custard was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Sensational! I substituted blackberries for the raspberries and used blackberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I used angel food cake (store bought) and doubled the custard. My dinner guests raved over it and ate every last bite. Don't make this if you want leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This reminds me of childhood! It may be the best dessert ever. Fresh, light, flavorful! I did double the custard recipe to make it more like my childhood memory, but otherwise... perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The name is right, this Trifle IS to die for! And it really is easy to make too. I used a store bought Lemon pound cake, doubled the Custard recipe, used Strawberry jam and strawberries instead of raspberries. Still, those changes are relatively minor and this is a very well deserved five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
The GREATEST dessert ever!!! I'm so thankful, so so so impressed! Even my husband who is not a big fan of dessert, had 2 helpings!! (after a big dinner of pot roast and other stuff) This is my 1st ever English Trifle and it turned out perfect! I used strawberry jam instead, added strawberries, blueberries, kiwi fruits and peaches! The colors were beautiful :) Full of sunshine! The home made custard was impressive! Will never buy the custard mix from shops again. I too doubled the portion for custard. It was barely enough. Everything was great! Except i didn't have a trifle bowl which was a waste, couldn't see the color contrast. I'll always use this recipe for English Trifle. It's the best! The most important thing is, this pleases my picky eater husband ;) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My mom, who is English, has a recipe for Trifle that included a box custard. When I went to the grocery store and could no longer find the box custard I looked here for a good custard recipe. Let me tell you, the custard in this recipe is the best. My only complaint is that it didn't make enough! My mom agreed I could have easily doubled the amount of custard and it would have been that much better. Thanks for the recipe. I will stop looking for the box custard and will continue to make my own using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States