English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I make this every year for Christmas and now I'm starting to get requests for it beyond the holiday season. Simple, easy to make, and moist and delicious. It always goes quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Low rating but my fault - custard was way too runny Once I figure it out I'll rerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Loved by all! Too add more berry flavor, I heated some frozen berries in sugar, stirring constantly until it had a runny, liquid texture then added jam to the mix. Bought it off the heat and allowed it to cool before adding a shot of blackberry nip and dunking the sponge squares until they were half-coated. Really added to the texture of the trifle, and gave it a larger depth of flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is a delicious trifle. However, you need to triple the custard portion and double the whipped cream. I also doubled the raspberries. There is def. not enough custard or cream to cover the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Don't forget to add the sherry or brandy over the sponge - otherwise its not a real English Trifle. With the sherry its worth 5 stars - without the sherry 4 stars or less!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Yummy Yummy! We all loved it! I doubled the cream, cake and whipped cream, per others suggestions and layered it twice. I used frozen raspberries, since out of season, and it was great. Loved the homemade custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I did have a few issues. First of all, the custard was too thin as written; if you can whisk in a tablespoon or two of cornstarch, I'm sure that would help it thicken. I had to chill the custard for HOURS before it was even near thick enough to layer on. When I poured it on, it drizzled all the way to the bottom and covered up all the pretty layers I'd made. *insert boo boo lip here* but I did garnish it with a few leftover fresh raspberries and some chopped up Skor chocolate bars, delicious. My husband and most dinner guests loved it! May make again, but need to tweak that custard. Daughter suggested homemade PUDDING instead of custard; will search out some recipes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trece33
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
OMG!!!!!!!!I DID IT!!!!!!!!! I made this for the FIRST TIME last night and TOOK it to CHURCH TODAY for our homecoming luncheon. It looked sooo... pretty and I PRAYED that it tasted as good as it looked!! Well, You know that GOD has ANSWERED your PRAYERS when the PREACHER takes the time out to pat you on the back and say "YOUR DESSERT WAS DELICIOUS!!!" The only tweaks that I made was... DEFINITELY DOUBLE the CUSTARD and WHIPPING CREAM. While cooking on MED-LO I added 2 TBLSP of cornstarch mixed with a little milk to help thicken the custard. I also added 4 TBLSP of sugar to the custard mixture and Whipped Cream. The custard was kind of bland so I added 2 tsp. of vanilla to the custard mixture and whip cream, but it was still missing something so I added 1 tsp of CHAMPAGNE EXTRACT from concentrate and that changed the flavor and made all the difference. So, if you can't find the champagne extract experiment with the flavor of your choice to wake it up a little bit. I used FRESH FRUIT and CRUSHED HEATH TOFFEE CANDY instead of almonds for the garnish. I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used an angelfood cake and strawberry jam.... with strawberries and blueberries. I also doubled the custard and added some sugar (3 T) and vanilla to my whipped cream. It turned out quite well... and was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States