English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
following changes: 1 layer of cake 1 pint strawberries + 1 banana 2 cups pudding 2 cups whipped cream repeat 1 more layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Amazing! I made this for christmas and everybody loved it! I used a vanilla pod for the custard and didn't use the jam. I sprinkled fresh berries with sugar and let their juices moisten the cake. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent flavor. Like others suggested... a) I doubled the custard recipe, b) added vanilla to the custard and the whipped cream. c) used Sara Lee frozen pound cake d) made it in layers: Layer 1: pound cake spread with seedless raspberry jam, then sprinkled with frozen raspberries and sherry, then spread with half the custard. Layer 2: Repeat layer 1. Then spread with whipped cream and toasted slivered almonds. My only difficulty was that my custard didn't set too well, despite adding 2 or 3 spoons of cornstarch. I'll have to read up on making custard to find out what I did wrong. Other than the custard being runny, it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this trifle for christmas in 2010 and everyone loved it. I did have to double the recipe to fill my huge trifle dish to the top. I will make this dish every year for Christmas. A new Christmas tradition to be charished and longed for all year. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This disappeared in 5 minutes! Very simple to make. I used lady fingers lined the bottom and sides of the bowl. I used raspberries and strawberries. As it was being devoered, everyone made suggestions for other fruit and flavors. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this recipe in 6 miniature trifle cups, and it was a hit. However, I used a custard mix and topped the dessert with strawberries and blackberries instead of strawberries and blueberries. I also used my grandmother's delicious whipped cream recipe which has a healthy dose of vanilla and sugar in it. The miniature trifles looked rather gourmet when finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j'adorelacuisine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is almost exactly how my mom makes it...only difference is she moistens the sponge cake with sherry. Super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for the first time for Easter and it was a HUGE hit! I took some other reviewers' advice and added vanilla to the custard, and vanilla & sugar to the whipping cream. I'm not sure if I cooked the custard long enough, since it was a bit runny (will add a little cornstarch w/ milk next time). I put sliced strawberries in one layer, and bananas & kiwis in the next layer. Even though it was a little "soupy", it still tasted DELICIOUS and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I make this every year for Christmas and now I'm starting to get requests for it beyond the holiday season. Simple, easy to make, and moist and delicious. It always goes quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States