English Trifle to Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Pretty good recipe but needs some adjustments. The whipped cream and custard amounts need to be doubled or else the trifle is too dry. Also, I followed the instructions and yet my custard did not thicken. I will look elsewhere next time for a custard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe is nice. I grew up with one very similar and continue to make it today. Instead of using cake and spreading jam on it, just buy raspberry rolls and slice them and line the bottom and sides of the bowl, this looks really pretty. I use Birds Custard, making it according to the directions for the dessert custard (which is thicker. A nice variation to this, is to sprinkle the raspberry rolls with Peach Schnaaps and use peaches sliced along with the raspberries for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Test made this today served in goblets and making it in a trifle container tomorrow. Turned out very very good. Some tips - for a trifle container you definitely need to double or triple the custard recipe. Add 1 Tablespoon cornstarch mixed with a little milk to custard mixture to thicken. Add a teaspoon of vanilla too. I bought 2 1-lb Sara Lee frozen pounds cakes which I think would be tastier than angle food cake. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar to the whipped cream. Homemade custard is the way to go - wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Out of this world rich, crazy, and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Easy recipe to follow. Did get runny custard one time. Not sure why. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Yummmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious overall. I bought a sponge cake at the grocery store, which i think was a bit big. Next time i will double the custard recipe, because it turned out great and i wanted more. Added some vanilla and almond essence to the custard, next time i will throw in a vanilla bean. I don't think that whipping the custard was necessary, it was a bit hard to judge when it was done because of all the foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe is pretty authentic but traditional trifle includes soaking sponge cake with sherry however, I prefer to use Chambord. I also used Sara Lee frozen pound cake which has an excellent consistency. Be sure to add a little sugar to the whipped cream and top the trifle with the fruit(s) of your choice. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I had a Downton Abbey party and this was one of the British foods I made. The directions were very clear and the outcome was fantastic. I don't even care for berries, but i think I had four or five helpings! I did use blackberry jam and berries, as well as frozen blueberries, which I think turned out well and they were cheaper than raspberries. Everyone loved the toasted almonds on top! Great, great recipe. I'll be making it again soon just for my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe but I have a small suggestion that is valid for most trifle. Make it the day before you need it and store it in the fridge. It's waaaay better the second day. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States