English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It is a very easy and quick recipe that anyone can do when they need a party desert and is sure to fulfill everyones taste buds! Excellent! (I didn't use chocolate and it still tastes great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This turned out great - even without the nuts. I made a second batch on a stove that I know doesn't keep a constant temperature, and it didn't cook as well, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatpoegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this for Christmas and everyone wanted more! For a special holiday touch, I crushed Planters Creme Brule almonds and sprinkled it over the chocolate covered toffee while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I really struggled with this recipe. I stirred and stirred for 20+ minutes and the sugar just wouldn't brown. I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Hmm did something wrong I guess, maybe the pan I cooked it in? I did it as directions said and the toffee was sugary?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This turned out wonderfully. I added chopped up almonds to the top. I got rave reviews from family and coworkers on this candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was wonderful and so easy! Took previous advice and heated slowly...no oil on top, just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Adams Katchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made this with unsalted butter and found the toffee to be a bit bland . I sprinkled kosher salt on top of the chocolate and nuts and it was super yummy. I will be making this again, probably tomorrow.... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyTripletsRock
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaD
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
ok I just wasted 2 batches of ingredients on this. I made it last year and it came out great! Maybe I used a different pan or something, but I poured off 1/2 cup of butter before pouring the second batch out and the result was still swimming in a lagoon of oil. Oh well, I'll see how it turns out, but I think it's easier to go buy english toffee in the nice candy shop in town next year and save myself the grief, the mess and waste of time and money. Congrats, to those who have succeded, it probably was something I did wrong as I have made this last year and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made it as the directions read, except I added a dash of salt and 1 tsp vanilla after the candy reached 305 degrees (as some reviewers suggested). Really good toffee! Next time I will use chocolate almond bark though as I don't like the flavor of the choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States