English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I decided recently to give out candy for christmas presents this year, and tried a half batch of this toffee (with no nuts) before going full scale. I did have a lot of problem getting the sugar to caramelize, and it took nearly an hour before I gave up and upped the heat far above what I thought sounded safe. Finally the toffee turned golden and then set wonderfully. I also had a problem with the butter and sugar separating like some others had mentioned but when I did I simply added more water (half a tablespoon at a time) and they all blended back together just fine. All in all I think I will be using this recipe for my christmas gifts. (I also melted the chocolate ahead of time and spread it on the toffee when it had half cooled, which worked wonders)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
really good. I don't like almonds and don't have chocolate but just the butter, sugar, and water is amazing i did add a little vanilla and I used parcement paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Careful after throwing the almonds in, once they start to toast, they cook very quickly. Mine are a little too toasty. Would make again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
me and my neighbor kid did this and loved it the is so EASY nothing but good things for this recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It is a very easy and quick recipe that anyone can do when they need a party desert and is sure to fulfill everyones taste buds! Excellent! (I didn't use chocolate and it still tastes great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This turned out great - even without the nuts. I made a second batch on a stove that I know doesn't keep a constant temperature, and it didn't cook as well, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatpoegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this for Christmas and everyone wanted more! For a special holiday touch, I crushed Planters Creme Brule almonds and sprinkled it over the chocolate covered toffee while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I really struggled with this recipe. I stirred and stirred for 20+ minutes and the sugar just wouldn't brown. I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Hmm did something wrong I guess, maybe the pan I cooked it in? I did it as directions said and the toffee was sugary?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This turned out wonderfully. I added chopped up almonds to the top. I got rave reviews from family and coworkers on this candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States