English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I don't have a candy thermometer so I stirred on medium all through the buttery, sticky dough looking bubbles until it started to turn to a toffee color with few bubbles. Probably 15 minutes of stiring. Then I chilled mine in the fridge after to harden it enough to break apart. I don't think I'll add the nuts to the mix next time to make it easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
There may be a little too much butter in this but it's delish! A few things when making toffee, never use a non-stick pot and if it separates on you simply add a small amount of warm water and whisk till it come back together, you can add up to a 1/8 of a cup of water but go slow- On the verge of burnt w/ sea salt is divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was easy enough and turned out great! I followed the advice of another review and cut down on the butter. For my first time ever making candy I could not have found a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I tried a similar recipe with poor results because I didn't know enough about making candy and the directions were lacking. So after reading the reviews and tips here I decided to try again. This time I used 1 cup butter, 1 cup sugar, ended up using 3 tbsp cold water, 2 tbsp corn syrup and 1 tsp salt. I added 1 tsp of vanilla at the end just before pouring onto parchment paper. I only stirred at the beginning to mix the ingredients and then I refrained from putting that spoon back in the pot. It turned out wonderful, the candy tasted like a werthers num. Then I put the layer of melted chocolate on and sprinkled minced pecans. Thanks for all the tips, I had just about given up on candy making :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I had my doubts when I seen this in the pan but I did exactly like it said and it turned out amazingly delicious came out of the pan very easy and is just plain GOOD..and I used a cast iron skillet because I have a couple of them ..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MABAKEIT
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Easy and fast. turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have made some very much like this for more than 40 years, except mine has you sprinkle the nuts over the chocolate at the end. The old recipe says "cook to the color of a brown paper bag", which I find takes about 14 minutes after the sugar mixture starts to boil, and it recommends stirring the whole time (though I may stand back next time!). If you have a ceramic cooktop, cast iron is not recommended. A heavy 3-4 quart anodized saucepan works well. This is a dangerous process because it gets much hotter than boiling water and can cause a fire if you turn your back. For safety, shoo kids and pets out of the kitchen and ignore the phone. Have a pot lid handy to smother flames, though you should never need it. Have all ingredients and equipment lined up before you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
These tasted way better than anything you can buy in the store. The only thing I did different was to break up the toffee and chocolate cover the individual pieces. Giving as gifts for Christmas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j8rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I decided recently to give out candy for christmas presents this year, and tried a half batch of this toffee (with no nuts) before going full scale. I did have a lot of problem getting the sugar to caramelize, and it took nearly an hour before I gave up and upped the heat far above what I thought sounded safe. Finally the toffee turned golden and then set wonderfully. I also had a problem with the butter and sugar separating like some others had mentioned but when I did I simply added more water (half a tablespoon at a time) and they all blended back together just fine. All in all I think I will be using this recipe for my christmas gifts. (I also melted the chocolate ahead of time and spread it on the toffee when it had half cooled, which worked wonders)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
really good. I don't like almonds and don't have chocolate but just the butter, sugar, and water is amazing i did add a little vanilla and I used parcement paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States