English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly - even while it was raining cats and dogs outside - and it was perfect! I didn't use a non-stick pan because I noticed that even on fudge,that's not a great ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have been making this same recipe for almost 40 years now, but I use Hershey's chocolate bars (it takes about 7 for a long glass casserole dish). The bars melt in seconds, and you just spread the melted milk chocolate to cover the toffee. It is very easy, but you must stir the butter and sugar constantly to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lhisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have made English Toffee many times before, but thought I would give a different recipe a try. BIG mistake! While this recipe was edible, it did not taste like the English Toffee I know and love. After the sugar hardened, there was a lot of oily substance in the pan, I suspect from all the butter. It didn't turn out like something you could hand out without napkins or package up and give as gifts because it was way too greasy, and frankly, didn't taste all that much like English Toffee. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It's great just the way it is. I did use a candy thermometer like was suggested and cooked to 300 degrees. I made 2 batches. One with walnuts and one with almonds. Both were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe turns out well, but I added 2 teaspoons of Mexican vanilla and a little less water. I use a big cast iron skillet and I doubled the recipe. I stir constantly with a flat spatula. I don't use a candy thermometer, I just go by color. I like it with salted butter. A 12 oz package of mini semi sweet chocolate chips melts fast and spreads smoothly. Chopped toasted almonds sprinkled over all. People I share this with think I'm a kitchen genius. I live in a humid place and don't have trouble with candy behavior. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a delicious recipe for English toffee!! This was my first time attempting to make toffee, so I was very nervous about making it. My niece and I tried it, and the first batch burnt. It was because I got nervous because the sugar wasn't melting at first, and I think I turned the fire up too high. Well, after tossing that batch, we tried it again, this time with the fire kept very low,allowing the sugar to melt slowly and stirring every few minutes. We used raw almonds and roasted them in the oven separately. While the sugar was melting, we let the almonds cool. Once they were cool, I rough chopped them. I didn't add the almonds to the toffee until right before I poured it onto the cookie sheet. It turned out wonderful!! I was soooo proud and happy we tried it again. I will definitely be making this treat for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki1152

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy Naylor
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I love this recipe, it is simple and I usually have the ingredients around the house already. I have made it with and without out the almonds, you really can't tell the difference. I have also added a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor a little more.This toffee is especially good when dipped in white chocolate. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Naylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We cooked it for longer than stated, though I did double the reciepe. Cooked until it was golden and smelled like toffe, and tested a drop in cold water. Melt in your mouth, easy, I omitted the nuts because of allergy so I literally had all the ingredients without going to the store....gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Second time around for me with this recipe. The first time it separated and I hadn't read the reviews to know there is a remedy for this. drained off the top and the bottom stuff made good toffee. I just finished my second batch. First I calibrated my candy thermometer, it was about 15 degrees low, ok. Took it slow and easy. I started getting concerned when it began to boil, I thought the froth on top was coming over and got another pan ready, not needed. Finally it began to turn color about 225 degrees. Thermometer 15 degrees low? finally about 235 I felt it would be burning if I didn't get it out of there. I had a cup of ice water with me to test it, and it was granulated. Well, I am forging ahead, I may have to try it again. I had to laugh at some of the superstitions, like stirring it only clockwise and only making it in dry humidity. I live in Colorado, 20% is a humid day here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States