English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by NANSYPANTS
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Super easy and so delicious. I used pecans and dark chocolate chips, just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahlh
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Everyone raved about this recipe. They could'nt believe it was homemade! I cut the sugar to 1 cup though and it turned out great. I used a candy thermometer and waited until it boiled down and thickened.Iit is vital to let it reach 300 F and to not let it exceed 320 F. Hope it is helpful. Also, once you put the chocolate down, wait a minute until it is softened before spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I was expecting chewy toffee, but this was still delicious! I used 1/2 cup of butter and no almonds or chocolate chips but it made a wonderful birthday present for my friend. I blotted up the excess oil with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe didn't work for me. Didn't look anything like toffee. Maybe I did it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellent! Rave reviews everywhere I took it. It's easy but a little tricky. Be sure to watch for that golden, even dark golden, color. I stopped at 310 degrees. I put walnuts on top instead of the almonds inside. Also I lined the pan with parchment for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe's addition of a little water made all the difference for me in terms of turning into toffee and not a crystallized mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett Angella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe is easy to adapt to what you have on hand... I had no almonds so I left them out. I had a couple of Hershey Bars left over from Halloween so I used them instead of chocolate chips. I had Imperial margarine instead of butter. Tasted great to all of us. :>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquelineAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Can't really rate this...was not difficult to prepare but when breaking apart, the chocolate separated from the toffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is an excellent recipe with ONE IMPORTANT exception. You must add a tablespoon of corn syrup. This will keep the sugar from crystalizing and making the toffee grainy. I tried this recipe twice with the same problems as many other reviewers - oily, globby mess. My third try I added the corn syrup and it worked perfectly. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I'm revising my review....I took another person's advice on here and used all the butter and added 3 tbs of water and 3tbs of corn syrup. It was the corn syrup that helped with the grainy texture. Once the sugar was dissolved, I put in my candy thermometer and let it go. DO NOT STIR AT ALL! I let it cook until 290 and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States