English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Safe to say I butchered this one badly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
unbelievably yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe today for Christmas. Read the reviews and followed the recommendations others made. My batch came out oily, separated from the chocolate when it chilled and I cut it, and had a ton of butter pushed off to the side of the pan. I'm going to try the corn syrup next time and see if that corrects the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe AS IS. I can't stress enough that you use the exact amount of butter the recipe calls for, no less. If you use less, you are ruining the product. The trick is cooking temperature!! Got to stay on top of the temp and using cast iron is a toffee tradition for a reason, because it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly - even while it was raining cats and dogs outside - and it was perfect! I didn't use a non-stick pan because I noticed that even on fudge,that's not a great ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have been making this same recipe for almost 40 years now, but I use Hershey's chocolate bars (it takes about 7 for a long glass casserole dish). The bars melt in seconds, and you just spread the melted milk chocolate to cover the toffee. It is very easy, but you must stir the butter and sugar constantly to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lhisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have made English Toffee many times before, but thought I would give a different recipe a try. BIG mistake! While this recipe was edible, it did not taste like the English Toffee I know and love. After the sugar hardened, there was a lot of oily substance in the pan, I suspect from all the butter. It didn't turn out like something you could hand out without napkins or package up and give as gifts because it was way too greasy, and frankly, didn't taste all that much like English Toffee. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It's great just the way it is. I did use a candy thermometer like was suggested and cooked to 300 degrees. I made 2 batches. One with walnuts and one with almonds. Both were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe turns out well, but I added 2 teaspoons of Mexican vanilla and a little less water. I use a big cast iron skillet and I doubled the recipe. I stir constantly with a flat spatula. I don't use a candy thermometer, I just go by color. I like it with salted butter. A 12 oz package of mini semi sweet chocolate chips melts fast and spreads smoothly. Chopped toasted almonds sprinkled over all. People I share this with think I'm a kitchen genius. I live in a humid place and don't have trouble with candy behavior. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a delicious recipe for English toffee!! This was my first time attempting to make toffee, so I was very nervous about making it. My niece and I tried it, and the first batch burnt. It was because I got nervous because the sugar wasn't melting at first, and I think I turned the fire up too high. Well, after tossing that batch, we tried it again, this time with the fire kept very low,allowing the sugar to melt slowly and stirring every few minutes. We used raw almonds and roasted them in the oven separately. While the sugar was melting, we let the almonds cool. Once they were cool, I rough chopped them. I didn't add the almonds to the toffee until right before I poured it onto the cookie sheet. It turned out wonderful!! I was soooo proud and happy we tried it again. I will definitely be making this treat for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States