English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Very easy to make with only a few ingredients needed. Although the final product tasted very good, the texture of the toffee was very oily and overall it was messy to eat. It would be difficult to wrap these up to give for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
The toffee tasted good, however as the other reviewer stated, the toffee was soooo oily. Butter pooled around the whole pan. I wonder if the butter quantity was correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Very greasy and the sugar remained grainy even though I really cooked it a long time. I would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
It was greasy and never did set up I made 3 pans and had to throw them all out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Very good & easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
After experimenting, here is what I figured out. The toffee turns out amazing if you do two things diffent. First, I used half the amount of butter that was called for. Second, when cooking with sugar, you have to wait for it to caramelize... that means that you should not stop cooking it until it turns into a light chocolate (toffee apple!) color that is thick and creamy. Then let it cool... it will start to harden right away. Be sure to take it off as soon as it turns the light brown color so that it doesn't begin to burn. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Great Recipe. You must cook it a very long time to gain the appropriate texture, being very careful not to burn. It took a long time for mine to carmalize. If it is grainy in texture it is because it wasn't cooked to the right stage. I keep ice water next to my stove and dribble a bit into it to gauge texture. This is a "watch constantly" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Although the first batch I made had the oil problem noted by other reviewers I tried again and the next several batches came out wonderful. Only thing I did differently was change pans. The batch where the butter never fully incorporated was made in a non-stick pan. When I switched to regular stainless steel it worked great. Don't know if that was the reason or just coincidence but I changed from my old recipe of many years to this one for the rest of my Christmas cooking. Fast, easy and YUM! Can you say teacher gift?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I'm actually quite scared of cooking confectionary because of the hot sugar, but this was very easy to make - I halved the quantity of butter after reading the reviews as I prefer less oil (although seems a bit beside the pont to be counting calories while making toffee!!) and it came out fine. I used a non-stick frypan and just kept cooking until it caramelised (turned brownish - about 12 minutes). I will definately be using this recipe again for christmas pressies and for school sweets-days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
This toffee turns out perfectly everytime! Just be careful not to over-cook it. It's so rich and buttery! I won 1st place with it at our county fair! I used sliced almonds instead of slivered and also added finely chopped almonds to the top of the chocolate. This is now my #1 toffee recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States