English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have never made Eniglish Toffee before, but my mom always made it. This is as good as hers. I cooked it until it was the color of light carmel, and it seemed to darken up a little after I poured it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This toffee tastes exactly how my grandmother used to make, and could not be easier. I did omit the nuts and boil the mixture until about 280'-290', and it set up perfectly. I also melted my chocolate and then spread it over the top. It turned out PERFECT and everyone loves it! I will definitely be making this each and every year, from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Perfect! I followed the recipe omitting the nuts. My 7 year-old was the 'chef' and does not like them. We just love it! It takes a while to cook. But I think the recipe time is just about right. Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious and very easy! Crisp crunchy texture without being too sticky. Flavor is good but not super rich--if you're looking for that authentic English toffee experience, I'd use another recipe that calls for more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was good homemade candy. You'll want to make sure it reaches a dark carmel color before you take it off the burner (about 10-12 minutes for my batch.) I also reduced the butter to 3/4c. and added 2 Tbs. of corn syrup to prevent sugar crystals from forming. Also, I DID NOT STIR THE POT but rather covered it with a lid. I've read that stirring causes crystal formation and results in grainy candy. When covered, the trapped steam washes any sugar crystals down the inside of the pot. Also, be sure to BUTTER YOUR PAN WELL, otherwise your candy will flake off and crumble instead of coming off in nice pieces. Next time I will probably line the pan with foil, then butter the foil to make for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is beyond GOOD!!! I made it exactly as written and it was wonderful...don't change a thing! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is wonderful!! Made it exactly like recipe. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very easy to make. I made 3 batches of this last year and every bit disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the instructions in MommyFromSeattle's review, and it turned out fantastic! I may never have to buy another Heath bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I have never made candy before and this was my first attempt. According to instructions I was supposed to butter a 10x15 pan, which I did. When I poured the candy, it did not fill the whole pan, only about half of it. I didn't try to spread it any thinner. After about a half hour of cooling, i noticed liquid butter all over the pan. I removed the candy which was pretty firm then to a cooling rack and placed the cooling rack in the fridge to finish setting up. About an hour later the chocolate was firm and we broke the candy into pieces and despite the minor mishaps, it tasted excellent! Even my kid's dad who isn't a toffee fan tried it and he actually liked it! I just thought it would make a larger amount based on the size pan called for and didn't expect the pools of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States