English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i did not have chocolate on hand so i tried the toffee with just almonds. I made 4 batches! Awfully hard to get right. I used a candy thermometer and followed the directions exactly. The 1st batch tasted exactly like my cast iron pot and took a long time to come up to temp. Yuk. DO NOT USE CAST IRON. The candy flavor is too subtle and can not stand up to the metallic taste it adds. Next I used a stainless steel pot and it burned a little of course, ruined. Next i lowered the heat in the steel pot, it reached temp but the sugar never dissolved, it was the right color but taffy like and gritty. I ran out of butter so I used regular smart balance spread in the steel pot and it came out beautifully, I had to be careful not to burn it. I have no idea why it worked better with the spread. I recommend a very thick metal pot and a candy thermometer. Also say away from parchment paper, it picks up the waxy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made this and it did not turn out. Would like to rank it with no stars. Wouldn't turn golden color, and the sugar separated from the butter. Not sure if the instructions are accurate - I've never made a candy where you stirred constantly, but didn't quit for a while, and let it cook. I tried Paula Dean's toffee recipe, and it turned out great! Was easy to make, as well. Her instructions made much more sense than those for this recipe, based on my experience (several years) in making candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very similar to an Amish brittle recipe I've seen on here. But this is the easiest recipe I've ever found for english toffee. Tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious. I toast a few of the slivered almonds and dust on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great, easy recipe for a quick delicious dessert! I do agree with a previous comment that said be sure do make this recipe on a not-so-humid day because it does make a difference. I also added about 6 tablespoons of fresh finely ground flax seeds to the recipe to add some healthy fiber and omega 3's. It didn't affect the taste of the recipe at all (I've made it with and without the flax seeds). Thanks for this lovely recipe! Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this this morning as a gift for a friend's birthday. It was so good I am going to make some to keep. I followed the recipe but because I use unsalted butter, I added 1/8 tsp kosher salt. I used non-stick aluminum foil to line the pan. It worked perfectly and I recommend it highly. I also topped it with thinly sliced toasted almonds, crumbling them onto the still-warm semisweet chocolate right after spreading it over the candy. It chilled in less than an hour and broke up perfectly. I had no problem with separation during cooking and it was not grainy in the least. I used my 3qt All-Clad saucepan on my smallest burner at med-low heat and stirred only occasionally until the mixture reached 300 degrees. I did not have any problem with texture and the chocolate adhered fine. This is a great recipe and since I always have chocolate chips and nuts in the freezer I can now make candy on short notice. Since I live in a dry climate I imagine that helped me avoid some of the problems others have had and I didn't see any reason to add corn syrup; it came out just great as-is. Thanks, Nora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
makes a 4/5 with the notes mentioned by other reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobotGymnast
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
They were awesome. I only had one problem....... When i broke them into pieces all the chocolate fell off the top of the toffee. You had to pick up a chocolate piece and a toffee piece if yo wanted tot had a bite with both flavors. Not a big problem , but I have cooked them twice and the chocolate fell offf both times..Otherwise they are delich......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I followed the suggestions of MommyFromSeattle, and couldn't be happier with the end result. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The key was to find the right heat and stir, stir, stir. On the second try, I found that exactly at medium worked well; It started to smoke a hair and I pulled it off the heat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCONCANNON

Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States