English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As a first time Toffee maker, I was a little nervous however this recipe couldn't have made an easier and more wonderful batch of candy. A couple things I changed per reviews were replacing 2 Tbs of butter with corn syrup to prevent sugar crystallization and I followed the instructions to melt the butter then keep it on the lower side of medium for the rest of the time giving the butter time to incorporate with the sugar. Also, I used Parchment Paper instead of buttering the large cookie sheet which worked perfectly. The only change I'll make next time is a touch of vanilla. I did use a candy thermometer watching it rise to 310 before pulling off the burner which resulted in a perfect crunch with zero burn issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was an easy recipe however, I was dissatisfied with the turnout...had to toss it out..made another batch and it turned out like the 1st batch..was so dissapointed that I had to run back to the store and make something else for the Holidays...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've made this twice, following the exact recipe. Very easy and delicious outcome! The outcome really varied on the length of cooking time. The darker the colour of the mixture, the more crunchy it will be. The first time I made it it wasn't as crunchy, but it was just as delicious! I took it to my tennis lessons and they were a hit. I haven't done them with almonds yet, but when I do, I'm sure that it will be just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I don't have a candy thermometer so I stirred on medium all through the buttery, sticky dough looking bubbles until it started to turn to a toffee color with few bubbles. Probably 15 minutes of stiring. Then I chilled mine in the fridge after to harden it enough to break apart. I don't think I'll add the nuts to the mix next time to make it easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
There may be a little too much butter in this but it's delish! A few things when making toffee, never use a non-stick pot and if it separates on you simply add a small amount of warm water and whisk till it come back together, you can add up to a 1/8 of a cup of water but go slow- On the verge of burnt w/ sea salt is divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was easy enough and turned out great! I followed the advice of another review and cut down on the butter. For my first time ever making candy I could not have found a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I tried a similar recipe with poor results because I didn't know enough about making candy and the directions were lacking. So after reading the reviews and tips here I decided to try again. This time I used 1 cup butter, 1 cup sugar, ended up using 3 tbsp cold water, 2 tbsp corn syrup and 1 tsp salt. I added 1 tsp of vanilla at the end just before pouring onto parchment paper. I only stirred at the beginning to mix the ingredients and then I refrained from putting that spoon back in the pot. It turned out wonderful, the candy tasted like a werthers num. Then I put the layer of melted chocolate on and sprinkled minced pecans. Thanks for all the tips, I had just about given up on candy making :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I had my doubts when I seen this in the pan but I did exactly like it said and it turned out amazingly delicious came out of the pan very easy and is just plain GOOD..and I used a cast iron skillet because I have a couple of them ..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MABAKEIT
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Easy and fast. turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have made some very much like this for more than 40 years, except mine has you sprinkle the nuts over the chocolate at the end. The old recipe says "cook to the color of a brown paper bag", which I find takes about 14 minutes after the sugar mixture starts to boil, and it recommends stirring the whole time (though I may stand back next time!). If you have a ceramic cooktop, cast iron is not recommended. A heavy 3-4 quart anodized saucepan works well. This is a dangerous process because it gets much hotter than boiling water and can cause a fire if you turn your back. For safety, shoo kids and pets out of the kitchen and ignore the phone. Have a pot lid handy to smother flames, though you should never need it. Have all ingredients and equipment lined up before you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States