English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
easy and so good. I got so many compliments on it when I included in an assortment Christmas treat bag for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Yes, the butter is right you MUST use a cast IRON skillet and dance little circles around the pan with a WOODEN spoon with big swoops in between!!! It helps to warm the skillet in the oven for a bit, too not too hot though. My family(from England) has made toffee every year for the holidays and I lost the recipe, this is the closest so far. It does take longer than the recipe states mine 30min. of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I haven't made this one yet, but it looks similar to the recipe I was using. I recommend using a candy thermometer, needs to be 310 degrees for hard crack stage. On my stove/altitude that takes about 15 min. I make it in a non-stick saucepan. After I made it a few times, I recognized what it looked like when "ready". It's been a year so I will be using the candy thermometer again. Also, best to make candy like this on a day that is not humid. Hard to find in Southeast Texas, but I've made it, so... I definitely recommend the candy thermometer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first time I made it it turned out nice but a little grainy. Determined to get it right I made it 3 more times but it never got any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I guess I should have read the other reviews before attempting...I just threw out a double batch of this mess. Very oily, and I cooked it for MUCH longer than 15 minutes, but it never did set up. Would not make this again! Have used much easier recipes with success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Tastes okay, cools a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPS6294

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
This toffee turns out perfectly everytime! Just be careful not to over-cook it. It's so rich and buttery! I won 1st place with it at our county fair! I used sliced almonds instead of slivered and also added finely chopped almonds to the top of the chocolate. This is now my #1 toffee recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I'm actually quite scared of cooking confectionary because of the hot sugar, but this was very easy to make - I halved the quantity of butter after reading the reviews as I prefer less oil (although seems a bit beside the pont to be counting calories while making toffee!!) and it came out fine. I used a non-stick frypan and just kept cooking until it caramelised (turned brownish - about 12 minutes). I will definately be using this recipe again for christmas pressies and for school sweets-days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Although the first batch I made had the oil problem noted by other reviewers I tried again and the next several batches came out wonderful. Only thing I did differently was change pans. The batch where the butter never fully incorporated was made in a non-stick pan. When I switched to regular stainless steel it worked great. Don't know if that was the reason or just coincidence but I changed from my old recipe of many years to this one for the rest of my Christmas cooking. Fast, easy and YUM! Can you say teacher gift?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Great Recipe. You must cook it a very long time to gain the appropriate texture, being very careful not to burn. It took a long time for mine to carmalize. If it is grainy in texture it is because it wasn't cooked to the right stage. I keep ice water next to my stove and dribble a bit into it to gauge texture. This is a "watch constantly" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States