English Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Mine turned out oily. I followed the directions carefully, cooked slowly, and the humidity outside is only 30%. I don't know what else I could have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Oh. .. this was awesome! I love English Toffee but never knew it was this easy to make. Great recipe... will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is similar to the toffee I've made each Christmas for friends and family since the '80s. I use 1 lb of good quality butter, 2C sugar, a small bag of slivered almonds and 1 'giant' Hershey bar for each batch. That's it - no water. Cook butter/sugar at medium low in a heavy pan (I use the pan of my pressure cooker). Cook til it almost reaches hard crack stage and then add all almonds, let cook til hard crack and then pour quickly onto large piece of aluminum foil (I spread it on my kitchen table and put a towel under it). Spread as thinly as possible as it will harden as you're spreading. (My end result is thinner than the picture shown.)Break chocolate bar into pieces, let it sit a few minutes and then spread over the hardened candy. I let it sit overnight and then break into pieces and store in tins. Tips: only use high quality, brand name butter and let it soften first at room temp. Stir occasionally at first and then as it starts to change consistency and especially as it starts to change color, stir constantly, using a wooden spoon. I don't have a candy thermometer but determine its readiness by 1) color (coffee with moderate amount of cream) AND 2) stream a bit of the toffee from the pan into a cup of ice water - if it makes a brittle piece of candy instantly, it's ready. Don't put almonds in too early as they will burn. Re butter separating, I've had that happen a couple of times but I just stirred briskly as I was pouring onto foil to incorporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Super yummy!! After many trial and error I found that a cast iron skillet was the golden ticket. I do t care what other recipes say, only stir every 3-5 minutes NOT continuously! My butter didn't seperates when I backed off on stirring!!! Didn't use a thrmometer but waited to get the caramel color and it was perfect! I used dark chocolate on the top....heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Great recipe, I made this to give away to family for Christmas and it got rave reviews. I'm now getting email requests for the recipe. The only thing I noticed was it took longer than 5-6 minutes for the toffee to turn to the right color but the extra time was well worth the wait. This will become one of the "must" make on my list. Thanks for sharing the recipe.... Liza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grendel54
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I thought I cooked it wrong because all the butter looked like it separated but it came out great. I used Hershey bars on top instead of chocolate chips...melted easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My recipe calls for 1 lb. butter, 2 1/2 cups sugar, 2 cups whole almonds (melt butter, add sugar and cook over medium heat until sugar melts and mix is foamy, then add almonds). Stir until almonds pop and mixture begins to SMOKE! Pour into jelly roll pan. Cool slightly. Cover with 11-16 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips. Sprinkle with chopped nuts. Cool completely then break into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Roney Arms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
After reading the reviews and messing up the first batch the second time around it turned out WONDERFUL. I used the ingredients that the recipe calls for but I did use a candy thermometer. There is no way that this recipe takes only 15 minutes. It was more like an hour because the mixture has to heat slowy and until it reaches 310.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this and followed direction as written. The only thing is that it really takes longer than 20 minutes to make. It took me 30 to get the right boil on the syrup. Remember when making this type of candy low and slow is the way you will want to bring the syrup up to tempature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This did not work for me. I tried it twice and both times the toffee never turned brown and the mixture separated to make a gooey mess. I too wonder about the amount of butter since it all rose to the top of the pan while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States