English Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Wish I could give these tastey treats more stars!! We went to a party for the opening of the London Olympics everything was British and English themed. These tea cakes were a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
The other reviewers are spot on in that theser are delicious! However, I found I had to cook them longer, ~16 minutes, and had the very devil of a time getting them out of the (nonstick AND sprayed) mini muffin tin! I let tray #2 cool in the pan about 20 minutes and that went better. Anybody have ideas about what I should do differently next time? Maybe just get an infusion of patience? LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
These are SO delicious! Buttery, not too sweet but just sweet enough, and a cute 2-bite size! They are permanently added to my list of Christmas cookies, and are also a frequent request the rest of the year. And so easy to make! Thanks for this great cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This tea cake is soooo good!!! I used butter instead of shortening, baking powder instead of soda, and I also added 2 1/2 T. milk. It's more like roll-out sugar cookies. YUM! who couldn't resist?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Really good! I made them just as the recipe stated the first time and they were perfect with afternoon coffee. The next time I made them with crushed pecans... also wonderful! Just now I made them in the Chicago teacake pan, (looks like a mini muffin pan but the bottoms have an indentation, like a thumbprint, for filling) and filled them with chocolate ganache! Very pretty, very yummy! I hope they last til Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
these were not good - i'm not sure if i made them incorrectly, or if they are genuinely not good. whatever the explanation, i was terribly disappointed after reading such positive reviews. i would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It's just shortbread. Great for the holiday assortment plate. It's good shortbread, really. If you need to make shortbread, use this recipe. If you love shortbread, use this recipe. I just don't love shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wonderful, easy recipe! Made these for Christmas but we ate them before the actual day!!! Followed another reviewers trick and added a thumbprint of apricot preserves to half of the batch... DELICIOUS! I'm trying them with black berry and strawberry preserves next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vereeniging, Gauteng, South Africa
Living In: Helendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Best shortbread ever. It just crumbles and melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States