English Saffron Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This bread is amazing. I love the spices and the subtle sweetness and the aroma. I didn't braid my bread because my dough was still very sticky; I had to add lots of extra flour but didn't want to add too much in case I dried it out; I just added until it was workable without too much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexlane2246
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I gave this recipe 4 stars because the amount of flour needed is wrong. Instead of doing 2 cups last in half cup intervals I would recommend adding an additional 1.5-2 cups flour or else the dough is too sticky. Perfect amount of saffron- I would not reduce because the flavor would hardly be noticeable if you do. Would recommend adding raisins and 1/2 cup more sugar. Also recommend making two loaves or halving the recipe. It makes a TON. Also- bread did not take 50-60 minutes. Was done in 40. Overall- LOVE this bread recipe although best used as a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter, I used the full amount of saffron, it was difficult to dispose of the saffron threads once I had soaked them, so I did keep about a pinch of them in the dough and I added a few threads to the top of the dough for decoration The bread was amazing. My kids and coworkers loved it! I plan to make this again someday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love this recipe. It has become an Easter tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My kiuds loved it! I made with our Easter dinner and it was deefinitely enough for everyone. Probably the largest loaf of bread I have ever seen! I was a little too citrusy tasting for me, but I was the only one who felt that way. I followed the instructions to a T and it came out exactly the way it said. So, good recipe, good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbycocking

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This bread was beautiful and yummy. Had to add 2 cups more flour. Don't know if I measured wrong or what but it turned out wonderful. Took the suggestion of making two loaves instead of one large one. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Saffron is used in this recipe. I've made this many times and it's a huge hit where ever I've brought it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Just a few notes on this recipe: 1. Cube the butter before you put it in the milk, the milk isn't quite hot enough to melt two whole sticks. 2. For efficiencies sake, I'd soak the saffron in the water before starting the milk, then you're working on that while the water cools. 3. I ran out of sugar, so I used 1/4 cup of honey. I'm not sure if my loaf of bread is terribly different than it would have been, but it still tastes great. 4. Once again, I'm not sure how different it tastes, but vanilla soy milk works well as a substitute for milk. 5. If you are concerned with the taste, there isn't too much saffron. I think the bread tastes awesome. However, if the cost of saffron bothers you I would think you could decrease it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
incredible bread...wow very impressive, will DEFINITELY make again! Made a very large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I halved this recipe per other reviews. I've never had saffron bread before, so I don't have a real basis to judge by. The flavor is very nice, but the bread is denser than I would have liked. And like other reviews - it gets hard/dried out quick - even when I stored in airtight container. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States