English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Like most other reviewers, I found the mixture too dry to hold together. I used 8 T. butter (salted since it's all I had), 10 T. orange juice, and a little over 1/4 tsp. salt. I patted the dough into the 9" circle and cut it into 12 triangles. I had to bake it 22 minutes. Delicious flavor with just a hint of the orange. I see this as a very flexible recipe that I can use with cranberries, blueberries, or any other add-in that I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsmith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Yum - I'd like them without the chocolate chips too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Yum! Like many other reviewers, I had to add a lot of extra orange juice to get it to moisten up enough. I used one of my daughter's plastic Ikea cups to cut out the biscuit shapes because I didn't have a biscuit cutter (worked perfectly). Otherwise, I made it exactly as written and they turned out heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed these scones! Although, it was my very first time making these, and I was confused on how to turn the dough and then make wedges. The orange juice gave it a sweet flavor, but I added a little more. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I'd never made scones before trying this but was eager to try! I followed recipe exactly and realized it was a smidgen too dry. I added a little more OJ until the mix was moist enough to stick together but not enough to make the dough sticky. They were perfect! I made another batch a week later and was just as pleased with them the second time around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylifeworthwhile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We all loved this recipe. I used the 8 tbsp. of oj and added orange zest. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These scones are delicious! We added around 6 tbsp of butter and close to 8 tbsp of orange juice. They are not overly sweet but still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These are really good and so easy to make! I also added some dried cranberries that I had had leftover and they tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Yum! LOVE them! I use self-rising flour usually, so I don't add salt or baking powder, and they taste and rise just fine. I increased the butter to 8 T, and didn't have orange juice so I used milk, and they still taste fabulous. My children, who have never liked scones before, now squabble over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States