English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe!! I didn't have the OJ on hand so I substituted with 3 tbsp vanilla flavoring along my regular coffee creamer to the mixture little by little (equaled about 1/4 cup) till the texture was right. My baking time was longer too..closer to 20+ mins. They came out yum yum delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My family loves this recipe!!! We make it very often. I always double the recipe, use about 3/4 butter and 1 cup of buttermilk, which really makes them moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Of the three types of scones I brought to the Garden Party, these were the highest-rated. Not sure how much was the texture and how much was the chocolate, but people loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe! The only thing I did differently is add more orange juice to make them Orange Chocolate Chip scones. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Crew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Super easy and delicious! I too like other reviewers added a lot more orange juice. I did not measure how much more I just made sure it was easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My husband wants me to make it a family staple :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Amazing! I followed the directions exactly and had no problems, although bakers should note that after adding the OJ, you have to use your hands to mix and form the dough. To keep your scones light and flaky, mix quickly and not too much - the heat of your hands melts the butter and makes the dough heavy. The husband and kids ate these up in just two days and have begged for more. I'm not usually a baker, so I was highly impressed this recipe made be look so accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Used lemon juice instead of the orange juice...outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These were delicious! I was expecting more orange flavor, though. Next time I'll add some orange zest, I think. I also sprinkled them with sugar and almonds before baking. I used a pizza cutter to cut them after I patted the dough in a circle to make equal biscuits! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I just made these this afternoon and they are excellent! I substituted the chocolate chips for some orange flavored dried cranberries I had on hand from Trader Joe's. They worked perfectly with the orange juice in this recipe. I did as others suggested and added 2 Tbs butter and increased the orange juice to about 7 Tbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States