English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These scones turned out just as we were hoping and my kids absolutely loved them. They have the perfect texture, not too crumbly, not too dense, and the chocolate chips go very nicely with the slight orange flavor. A favorite with my kids means this will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I absolutely love scones but I have never dared to make them before. These turned out perfect once I got the dough moist enough to hold it together, and I even made a batch to give away to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Loved these and I took someone else's advice and used 8TBS of butter and 8 TBS of orange juice as well as the zest of half an orange - so worth it! YUM. I'm gonna have a hard time not eating the whole batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Have made these several times. I use a food processor to mix the dry ingredients, then add the cold butter cubes till they are like small peas. (I always need to use a stick of butter and about 6 tbs of OJ). I add the chips at this point then transfer the mix to a big metal bowl where I add the OJ and stir with a fork until it comes together. I knead by hand a little until it all comes together. I use a small ice cream scoop and put them on parchment lined baking sheet. I pat them down a little with moist hands and sprinkle sanding sugar on top. Bake till golden. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Awesome! I added up to 8 T of orange juice as suggested and 1 extra T. of butter also. Actually stick margarine is what I used. Will def. make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
After months of searching and trying many scone recipes, this one is a keeper! It's simple and very tasty. I did have to add quite a bit more orange juice to make the dough easier to work with. Love these scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, the only thing I had to adjust was the amount of orange juice used. When I added just the 3 TB called for, the mixture was too dry. So I added an additional 8 TB and then it was just the right consistency. Wonderful flavor and texture to these scones. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
made these to eat during our "Royal Wedding" party...incredibly yummy...I did add more orange juice than it called for, just because I liked it a little softer and more cakey than the traditional scone, but that slight hint of tanginess of the oj combined with the chocolate chips...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncsKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
New family fave. My son keeps asking for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
turned out really well. Although I did add 1 egg, 1/4 cup walnuts, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. mine were very cake like, which might have been because of the egg, or not enough cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States