English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are wonderful! I didn't have orange juice so I used milk (I also added more butter). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were incredibly easy to make, although I did have to double the orange juice like many other reviewers mentioned. Warm out of the oven I did not care for these very much, but the next day I thought they were pretty good! Thanks for sharing this recipe Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very very VERY yummy scone recipe. I put 8 Tb of butter and 8 Tb of orange juice to moisten the recipe up a bit. Also added orange zest of half an orange, just like Trina suggested. I rolled the dough to about 1/2" and cut into triangles. Sprinkled a little sugar on top before putting in the oven. My husband and I LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made these for years. Very good! I also make these by using the juice of one lemon and its zest instead of the OJ. I think I've come to like the lemon better. I've also begun to add a few pinches of sugar on top before baking.... YUMMO!!But it's what ever you like. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing. I was intimidated at first, since I've never made a scone before. BUT, this is super easy and delicious. Followed advice and used 8 tbsp of OJ and 8 tbsp of salted butter (and omitted salt from recipe). I also made a simple orange glaze (1 cup powdered sugar/1.5 tbsp OJ) and drizzled it on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am a scone snob and have been using the same recipe for years! After making these for my family last night, I have thrown my old recipe away. These are amazing. Light and flaky but rich and moist at the same time. I added 2 Tbsp more orange juice until I got the consistency I was happy with. Can't wait to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm giving five stars for this recipe, because I'm so glad to have found a version that I could adapt to get what I've wanted for a long time. My changes: use salted butter, don't add salt, add one egg, juice of one orange (about 5 tablespoons more or less), 2 tablespoons of sour cream; I shaped each scone to about the size of an egg; baking time was the same. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These scones turned out just as we were hoping and my kids absolutely loved them. They have the perfect texture, not too crumbly, not too dense, and the chocolate chips go very nicely with the slight orange flavor. A favorite with my kids means this will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I absolutely love scones but I have never dared to make them before. These turned out perfect once I got the dough moist enough to hold it together, and I even made a batch to give away to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Loved these and I took someone else's advice and used 8TBS of butter and 8 TBS of orange juice as well as the zest of half an orange - so worth it! YUM. I'm gonna have a hard time not eating the whole batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States