English Royalty Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I love these, they have been coming out great every time. I am still working on perfecting them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I loved this recipe so easy to make! If anything water needs to be added slowly, to form a dough. It will depend where you live, due to the moisture where I live in South Florida. I also made this recipe, for my class project for Food and Beverage Management Class at AIFL in the Culinary Department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnychicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are fabulous! I've never made scones before and I'm so glad they aren't brick-like. In spite of my worries I decided they were worth a shot and I'm so glad I made them. I added the juice of two small oranges and some zest since the dough was very dry. Since I've never made scones, I didn't know if I was just supposed to work with the dough and that it would still work out, but I simply added more juice. I also added some sliced almonds because I wanted some protein in them. This is a very good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe was lovely! The only thing that I would say is you are going to have to add more orange juice than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Dough was difficult to work with. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I made it two ways; Raspberry and white chocolate and COFFEE and chocolate chip. I mean, SO GOOD. Also, I did use the 8T butter and 8T OJ. Of course, I didn't use OJ in the coffee ones. I just used 8T of strong coffee, chilled instead. This makes a pretty flakey and slightly moist scone (but not like a muffin). If you like drier/crummy scones maybe "no" on the extra stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabethanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This would have worked out better had I read the reviews before hand, the recipe as stated does not have nearly enough liquid to allow the dry ingredients to come together. Because I was adjusting the amount of liquid so much, the biscuit-style dough ended up being a bit tough. These are almost too sweet, I may also reduce the amount of sugar next time. I will have to make them again because my wife loves them and I may have to hide them if I want any! I used a pastry knife to cut the disk into square pieces, which gives nice browned corners. I have since tried this using 8 tbsp (1/2 cup) each of butter and water (which works if you don't have orange juice handy), cutting into squares as before. This batch turned out much better and made a lot less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this recipe is absolutely delicious. i use 1 stick of butter, added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and used 5 tablespoons of almond milk and also used dark chocolate chip and peanut butter chip and it came out so delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These are perfect! I used this recipe because I didnt have buttermilk and now its one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We adjusted to 8tbs of butter and 8tbs of OJ as suggested and the scones turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States